Archive for March 3, 2010

His & Hers

Even though the husband and I don’t love all of the same foods, I usually try to make dinners that make us both happy without being too different.

Tonight that didn’t happen.

I really wanted more of last night’s vegetarian meatloaf, but I knew the husband didn’t love it as much as I did. Luckily, I predicted this in advance and pulled out some extra chicken parmesan from the freezer this morning. Sometimes you just gotta make meals for two.

We both started with some kitchen sink salad. I threw in whatever was in the fridge. Romaine lettuce, celery, Granny smith apples, red peppers, and goat cheese. I made a dressing inspired by the salad dressing from the maple vinaigrette from Saturday’s dinner, but minus the maple. I used equal parts red wine vinegar and olive oil, plus Dijon mustard, Worcestershire sauce, and hot sauce.

(I toasted up some walnuts in coconut oil to add to my salad portion later.)

kitchen sink salad

Veggie loaf for me:

vegetarian meatloaf

Plus more tomato, basil, & garlic sauce on top.

veggie loaf

Chicken parmesan & spaghetti with parmesan cheese & basil for the veggie-hatin’ hubby.

DSCN2628

While I was preparing the salad, I decided I wanted roasted red peppers with my vegetarian meatloaf , so I stuck a red pepper in the oven at 450 degrees while I got everything else ready.

DSCN2633

The roasted red pepper 100% completely totally made this dish. I wish I’d thought of it last night. I’m going to update my original recipe because this should definitely have red pepper with it every time. Oo roasted red pepper blended in to the tomato sauce would be just perfect!

DSCN2634

I was trying to ignore the snow outside the dining room window and pretend it was spring with some flowers. 🙂   table setting

Then I got distracted by the pretty dots the light was making through my glass of cabernet sauvignon. Yeah….

DSCN2635

Do you eat the same thing as the other people in your house, or do you have different meals for different people?

March 3, 2010 at 9:09 pm 18 comments

That’s a Wrap!

My fridge is abnormally full of leftovers from various dinners and what not this past week. Asparagus, mashed sweet potatoes, veggie loaf

I decided to dig into some of the Wedded Bliss leftovers to make lunch today.

A whole wheat wrap with roasted red pepper hummus, roasted asparagus, spinach, and goat cheese. I love me some goat cheese.

veggie and goat cheese wrap

Green goodness.

greens wrap

Plus mashed sweet potatoes on the side. I love these. I think I could even convince my regular white potato, cream, and butter loving step-dad to admit they’re “not bad”.

mashed sweet potatoes

Well, maybe… Maybe one day I’ll take on that challenge and see. 😉

Who’s the best cook in your family?

March 3, 2010 at 1:42 pm 12 comments

That’s a Wrap!

My fridge is abnormally full of leftovers from various dinners and what not this past week. Asparagus, mashed sweet potatoes, veggie loaf

I decided to dig into some of the Wedded Bliss leftovers to make lunch today.

A whole wheat wrap with roasted red pepper hummus, roasted asparagus, spinach, and goat cheese. I love me some goat cheese.

veggie and goat cheese wrap

Green goodness.

greens wrap

Plus mashed sweet potatoes on the side. I love these. I think I could even convince my regular white potato, cream, and butter loving step-dad to admit they’re “not bad”.

mashed sweet potatoes

Well, maybe… Maybe one day I’ll take on that challenge and see. 😉

Who’s the best cook in your family?

March 3, 2010 at 1:42 pm 12 comments

Starbuck's Perfect Oatmeal Claim

Daring to call your oats “perfect” is a pretty bold claim.

I’d have to say Starbucks got pretty darn close.

I had a coupon for a free cup of Starbuck’s perfect oatmeal, so of course I had to taste out this claim of perfection. I saw the barista pour a packet into the cardboard bowl, so I know it’s instant, but I’d say it’s pretty darn good.

DSCN2508

I really liked the toppings it came with. I chose the mixed nuts and dried fruit, but they also have brown sugar. The nuts gave it some extra substance, and the fruit added a little hint of sweetness.

DSCN2512

I also got a tall misto with skim milk and the bold pick of the day. YUM.

DSCN2513

Can you believe I got all this for $1.62?! Take that Dollar Menu, who needs you! (Well it was actually free because I used my Starbucks gift card , but you know what I”m saying)

DSCN2506

I still prefer my homemade oats, but it’s nice to know there’s good breakfast options out there if I’m ever on the run or traveling.

Happy Hump Day!! This week is flying by!

March 3, 2010 at 8:32 am 23 comments

Starbuck’s Perfect Oatmeal Claim

Daring to call your oats “perfect” is a pretty bold claim.

I’d have to say Starbucks got pretty darn close.

I had a coupon for a free cup of Starbuck’s perfect oatmeal, so of course I had to taste out this claim of perfection. I saw the barista pour a packet into the cardboard bowl, so I know it’s instant, but I’d say it’s pretty darn good.

DSCN2508

I really liked the toppings it came with. I chose the mixed nuts and dried fruit, but they also have brown sugar. The nuts gave it some extra substance, and the fruit added a little hint of sweetness.

DSCN2512

I also got a tall misto with skim milk and the bold pick of the day. YUM.

DSCN2513

Can you believe I got all this for $1.62?! Take that Dollar Menu, who needs you! (Well it was actually free because I used my Starbucks gift card , but you know what I”m saying)

DSCN2506

I still prefer my homemade oats, but it’s nice to know there’s good breakfast options out there if I’m ever on the run or traveling.

Happy Hump Day!! This week is flying by!

March 3, 2010 at 8:32 am 23 comments


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere