His & Hers

March 3, 2010 at 9:09 pm 18 comments

Even though the husband and I don’t love all of the same foods, I usually try to make dinners that make us both happy without being too different.

Tonight that didn’t happen.

I really wanted more of last night’s vegetarian meatloaf, but I knew the husband didn’t love it as much as I did. Luckily, I predicted this in advance and pulled out some extra chicken parmesan from the freezer this morning. Sometimes you just gotta make meals for two.

We both started with some kitchen sink salad. I threw in whatever was in the fridge. Romaine lettuce, celery, Granny smith apples, red peppers, and goat cheese. I made a dressing inspired by the salad dressing from the maple vinaigrette from Saturday’s dinner, but minus the maple. I used equal parts red wine vinegar and olive oil, plus Dijon mustard, Worcestershire sauce, and hot sauce.

(I toasted up some walnuts in coconut oil to add to my salad portion later.)

kitchen sink salad

Veggie loaf for me:

vegetarian meatloaf

Plus more tomato, basil, & garlic sauce on top.

veggie loaf

Chicken parmesan & spaghetti with parmesan cheese & basil for the veggie-hatin’ hubby.

DSCN2628

While I was preparing the salad, I decided I wanted roasted red peppers with my vegetarian meatloaf , so I stuck a red pepper in the oven at 450 degrees while I got everything else ready.

DSCN2633

The roasted red pepper 100% completely totally made this dish. I wish I’d thought of it last night. I’m going to update my original recipe because this should definitely have red pepper with it every time. Oo roasted red pepper blended in to the tomato sauce would be just perfect!

DSCN2634

I was trying to ignore the snow outside the dining room window and pretend it was spring with some flowers. 🙂   table setting

Then I got distracted by the pretty dots the light was making through my glass of cabernet sauvignon. Yeah….

DSCN2635

Do you eat the same thing as the other people in your house, or do you have different meals for different people?

Entry filed under: Dinner. Tags: , , , , .

That’s a Wrap! 5 Grain Kind of Morning

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Can You Stay for Dinner  |  March 3, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    Mmmm I want that veggie loaf!! It looks so delicious!
    I usually try to have the same meal as my boyfriend. He’ll eat almost anything so luckily I can just make whatever I’m craving!
    Have a great Thursday!

    Reply
  • 2. theprocessofhealing  |  March 3, 2010 at 9:53 pm

    I had chicken parm for dinner too!!
    I live with my parents and half the time we eat the same things, half the time I make my own. They are on board with trying new things and will at least give my food a shot. They are NOT a fan of tofu though hehe

    Reply
  • 3. Matt  |  March 3, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    We always have to do that at home for my dad. He doesn’t eat his veggies 😦

    Reply
  • 4. fitandfortysomething  |  March 3, 2010 at 11:11 pm

    We eat the same things-the husband is a trouper. BUT I know not to cook tofu or tempeh-he won’t eat it!

    Reply
  • 5. Lisa (bakebikeblog)  |  March 3, 2010 at 11:48 pm

    We try to have the same dishes – but our tastes ARE different o every now and then we make separate meals….

    Reply
  • 6. kbwood  |  March 4, 2010 at 12:18 am

    GIRL that veggie meal looks amazing! I KNOW if me and my bf get married i will have to make him something different!

    Reply
  • 7. Andi  |  March 4, 2010 at 6:20 am

    for a while i was cookin’ up meals that we would eat together. but the stars have moved out of alignment for that one lately, so i eat what i eat, and j eats what he eats. it’s just simpler that way right now. i had a hard time letting go of the thought that we needed to eat the same food, at the same time every night in order to be a grown-up, healthy functioning couple. the more important part is the time spent together, rather than what we eat, in my eyes. 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self  |  March 4, 2010 at 6:39 am

    Fortunately my husband and I usually have the same thing for dinner, but occasionally one of us will add or subtract a certain ingredient. It works out because my husband tends to say/think he doesn’t like something, but I go ahead and make it anyway and turns out he loves it! For the longest time he was convinced he hated balsamic vinegar…until I made a bunch of dishes with balsamic glaze and he loved them!

    Reply
  • 9. Amy @ Second City Randomness  |  March 4, 2010 at 7:33 am

    When I’m visiting my parents, it’s not unusual that I’m spending an extra five minutes in the kitchen making a different version of the meal for myself. My mom knows I’m not trying to be insulting, it’s just how I eat… (they’re bigger in the comfort food/carbs than I usually am)

    Reply
  • 10. Anna  |  March 4, 2010 at 8:24 am

    We eat different lunches and breakfasts, but 99% of the time, my husband and I have the same meal!

    Reply
  • 11. Heather (Where's the Beach)  |  March 4, 2010 at 8:36 am

    My hubby and I pretty much always eat the same meal. While he’s not vegetarian, we don’t cook meat in the house. He’s happy and content with what I make (or so he says) so no need to make multiple meals..

    Reply
  • 12. Kelly  |  March 4, 2010 at 9:34 am

    My husband and I usually eat the same things about 80% of the time. We eat different meals for 2 reasons:

    1. He HATES breakfast for dinner and I LOVE it!
    2. He thinks if there is no meat then it isn’t a meal and I love meatless meals sometimes!

    Reply
  • 13. Lacey  |  March 4, 2010 at 10:09 am

    elliot is so easy. he will eat anything. lol. so we usually have somethingn similar if not identical.

    Reply
  • 14. marathonmaiden  |  March 4, 2010 at 10:19 am

    when i was little my mom refused to make separate dinners but now she doesn’t cook at all so everyone eats what he or she wants and when they want it

    Reply
  • 15. Teacherwoman  |  March 4, 2010 at 10:25 am

    I find it hard enough cooking for one all the time… looking forward to those days where I can cook for two and don’t have left overs for a week! But, if I end up settling down with someone that doesn’t have the same “palate” as me, I can see where that would be a struggle!

    Reply
  • 16. thetwentyfifthyear  |  March 4, 2010 at 10:48 am

    Luckily, my roommate and I have very similar tastes so cooking for both of us doesn’t require any extra work. You make vegetarian meals look amazing though – I may have to try more??

    Reply
  • 17. Sophie  |  March 4, 2010 at 11:45 am

    I always make a dinner that both myself and my boyfriend will like, but we eat totally different things for breakfast and lunch!

    Reply
  • 18. inmytummy  |  March 4, 2010 at 7:02 pm

    We either eat the same thing or we have fend for yourself type nights. I normally end up eating some sort of refried bean concoction on those nights and I have no idea what he eats – a sandwich?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

