Starbuck's Perfect Oatmeal Claim

March 3, 2010 at 8:32 am 23 comments

Daring to call your oats “perfect” is a pretty bold claim.

I’d have to say Starbucks got pretty darn close.

I had a coupon for a free cup of Starbuck’s perfect oatmeal, so of course I had to taste out this claim of perfection. I saw the barista pour a packet into the cardboard bowl, so I know it’s instant, but I’d say it’s pretty darn good.

DSCN2508

I really liked the toppings it came with. I chose the mixed nuts and dried fruit, but they also have brown sugar. The nuts gave it some extra substance, and the fruit added a little hint of sweetness.

DSCN2512

I also got a tall misto with skim milk and the bold pick of the day. YUM.

DSCN2513

Can you believe I got all this for $1.62?! Take that Dollar Menu, who needs you! (Well it was actually free because I used my Starbucks gift card , but you know what I”m saying)

DSCN2506

I still prefer my homemade oats, but it’s nice to know there’s good breakfast options out there if I’m ever on the run or traveling.

Happy Hump Day!! This week is flying by!

Entry filed under: Breakfast. Tags: , , .

Meatless Meatloaf That’s a Wrap!

23 Comments Add your own

  • 1. theprocessofhealing  |  March 3, 2010 at 9:31 am

    Wow that’s a steal!!! I haver heard so many good things about their oatmeal.. i really want to try it! It is awesome that there is a healthy option out there besides fast food biscuits and stuff.

    Reply
  • 2. Kelly  |  March 3, 2010 at 9:38 am

    I got a $100 gc to Starbucks for christmas, and I have been milking it for all it’s worth. I think I have enough for one coffee left.

    Reply
    • 3. Heather  |  March 3, 2010 at 10:16 am

      $100?! I’m so jealous 🙂 I was proud of my $25 hahaa

      Reply
  • 4. Daniel  |  March 3, 2010 at 9:41 am

    Wow, I just checked their site and it claims to have 0g of sugar in their oatmeal! I’ll have to keep this in mind incase I’m ever in need of a healthy breakfast option (instant oatmeal is still 100% whole grain) when we’re on the road and don’t have a lot of options.

    Thanks for pointing this out and happy humpday as well!

    Reply
  • 5. Carolina John  |  March 3, 2010 at 9:41 am

    i’ve heard that oats at teh bucks are pretty good. never tried it though. glad you enjoyed it.

    Reply
  • 6. marathonmaiden  |  March 3, 2010 at 9:56 am

    i’ve heard mixed things about their oats. glad you liked ’em. good to know that there is something that’s not a pastry/baked good for a breakfast option out there

    Reply
  • 7. julia  |  March 3, 2010 at 10:04 am

    Curious! But they don’t have that oatmeal here in Europe… It’s only with water, right? I prefer my oats with milk, but I will give it a try the next time I see a Starbucks that sells it!

    Have a great day:)

    x Julia (taste of Living)

    Reply
    • 8. Heather  |  March 3, 2010 at 10:17 am

      I bet you could ask for milk…

      Reply
  • 9. Jocelyn @ Peace.Love.Nutrition  |  March 3, 2010 at 10:18 am

    Love mistos!!! That’s my starbucks drink : ) Although sometimes they try to charge me for a latte!!

    Reply
  • 10. onelittlejill  |  March 3, 2010 at 10:26 am

    Maybe they make it different in NJ, but I HATE their oatmeal as do many of my oat loving friends and family!

    However, as for their vanilla skinny lattes…oh, I have just a small addiction!

    Reply
  • 11. Anne Marie@New Weigh of Life  |  March 3, 2010 at 10:33 am

    What a great deal!

    Reply
  • 12. Sagan  |  March 3, 2010 at 11:06 am

    That picture of the fruit on there looks SO good. Normally I top my oats with banana and peanut butter and cinnamon, but this does look like a good option if I ever forget to bring my oatmeal to work (horror of horrors!).

    Reply
  • 13. todayslady  |  March 3, 2010 at 11:10 am

    That’s so good to know that they’re oats are good. I was definitely unsure about them. So jealous of your $100 gift card!!

    Reply
    • 14. Heather  |  March 3, 2010 at 12:12 pm

      I wish I had $100 giftcard!!

      Reply
  • 15. Anna  |  March 3, 2010 at 11:11 am

    I’ve tried their oats while traveling, and it’s definitely a good airport option!

    Reply
  • 16. Kara (@ Kara's Marathon)  |  March 3, 2010 at 11:40 am

    Glad you liked the oatmeal! I typically love their oatmeal (I get brown sugar as my mix-in), but the last time I had it the texture was really glue-y and not appetizing 😦

    Reply
  • 17. Teacherwoman  |  March 3, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    I heard their oatmeal was pretty good… so is Caribou, but I don’t know if you have that coffee shop near you!

    Reply
  • 18. Kelly  |  March 3, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    I totally agree…Starbucks makes a cup of pretty darn good oatmeal!

    Reply
  • 19. Britt @ Runnerbelle  |  March 3, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    Good to know! Next time I’m at the airport I’ll have to give them a whirl…. as that is pretty much the only time I think to go to a Starbucks.

    Reply
  • 20. Jenna  |  March 3, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    I have starbucks gift cards!!
    I should try the oatmeal-

    Reply
  • 21. Lisa (bakebikeblog)  |  March 3, 2010 at 4:32 pm

    Starbucks in Australia is SO behind! there is NO oatmeal on our menus here 😦

    Reply
  • 22. Danielle  |  March 3, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    I’ve tried Starbuck’s oatmeal before and I must say…it’s pretty good but I wouldn’t go as far as to say “perfect” 😉

    Reply
  • 23. Lyndsy  |  March 3, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    I love Sbux Oatmeal! It is so good and I use all the same toppings that you get. The nuts are the best addition as well as the dried cherries. Yum!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

