Archive for March 4, 2010

Dinner in a Flash

Have you put in your two cents on fat acceptance yet?

Dinner

Tonight I’m headed to a jewelry show with Emily, so I just wanted something small and quick for dinner to tide me over.

Luckily I have a well-stocked freezer.

chik'n nuggets

Morningstar Chik’n Nuggets with a bowl of Green Giant veggies. This mix of snap peas, red peppers, and potatoes is in my top two favorite Green Giant mixes. I started adding some edamame to the mix, but then I realized I was doing the whole soy and soy combo again, so I stopped. There’s probably like 8 soy beans in there haha.

veggies

green giant veggies

With some ketchup, jerk sauce, and Texas Pete hot sauce cuz I’m a hot sauce junkie. For real. I’ve put it on my oats before, no joke. quick dinner

Off for a girly night! Maybe I’ll come home with something sparkly. 😉

March 4, 2010 at 7:46 pm 11 comments

Too Fat to Fly?

Lunch

More lovely leftovers. Different combo this time 🙂

Mashed sweet potatoes

mashed sweet potatoes

I swear these mashed sweet potatoes get sweeter and sweeter every time I eat them. Oops my mom taught me not to swear…Sorry mom!

And more vegetarian meatloaf topped with tomato sauce and roasted red peppers. I’ll never make this again without the red peppers. They 100% make the dish awesome. Forget tomato sauce 🙂

veggie loaf with red peppers 

I really could eat this veggie loaf everyday all week long….good thing, because I still have at least two more huge servings left.

 

Fat Acceptance

Did you know there’s a National Association to Advance Fat Acceptance? Apparently there’s a national association for everything. I’ve been hearing references to the NAAFA all over the place ever since Kevin Smith tweeted about getting kicked off a Southwest flight for being too fat. (Seriously? That’s wrong. But I wasn’t there, I don’t know the details. But I can read and get an idea – he bought two seat tickets in accordance with policy, then got bumped to a flight with only one seat.)

My favorite “too fat to fly tweet” courtesy of Silent Bob:  [Accompanied by a picture of himself on the flight] "Hey @SouthwestAir Look how fat I am on your plane! Quick! Throw me off!"

Or maybe: “@SouthwestAir …Don’t worry: wall of the plane was opened & I was airlifted out while Richard Simmons supervised." Hahaaaa. Gotta love a sense of humor in the face of adversity. 😉

Wow I got way sidetracked…back to this fat acceptance thing:

The NAAFA’s goal is to end size discrimination; their motto: “We come in all sizes.”

Yup, we do come in all sizes.

And no, we shouldn’t discriminate based on size.

But I think this idea is approaching a fuzzy line. Where do you draw the difference between promoting acceptance of fatness and promoting health?

I think the NAAFA concept is important- no one should be discriminated against for any reason, and it’s unfortunate that this is even an issue. It’s important to promote awareness that size discrimination does exist– if you’ve never walked in someone else’s shoes, you don’t know what they’re going through. If you’ve never been overweight, you may not realize how overweight people are treated. Or that it’s not so easy to snap your fingers and not be overweight.

I just hope while they’re in pursuit of ending size discrimination, the NAAFA also provides resources to keep people healthy and help people change their size if that’s what they choose. Helping people be healthy is really the bottom line, physically and mentally.

(I think it’s super interesting that this organization was founded back in 1969…and that they use the word “fat” throughout their literature and not overweight and obese. It’s like their dancing around the PC-ness of it all…but that’s a whole other conversation. ;))

I could go on and on supporting and analyzing both sides of this whole phenomenon, but I’d rather hear what you have to say about it…

March 4, 2010 at 1:52 pm 10 comments

5 Grain Kind of Morning

Instead of my usual oat combo and almond milk, this morning I went for some Bob’s Red Mill 5 Grain Hot Cereal and rice milk.

Loaded up with toppings: pumpkin, cottage cheese, Amazing Grass Amazing Meal, cinnamon, and walnuts.

oats with toppings

Plus wheat berries for super extra chewiness.

oatmeal wheatberries

And a heaping spoonful of peanut butter, because, well, there’s no point otherwise. 😉

oats with peanut butter

Rounded out with a mug of coffee with So Delicious coconut creamer. Every time I use this I hope it tastes like coconut and it never does. Maybe one day I’ll learn.

coffee coconut creamer

Weekend’s almost here!!

March 4, 2010 at 8:33 am 10 comments


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere