Not So Basic Oats

March 5, 2010 at 8:03 am 7 comments

Sometimes it’s comforting to go back to basics.

Is it strange that I consider oatmeal, wheat germ, flaxseed, cinnamon, nutmeg, coconut, chia seeds, cottage cheese, wheat berries, pecans, and almond butter basic?!

oats & almond butter oatmeal

I’m always adding some kind of fruit or veggie, like bananas or pumpkin, and sometimes I forget that I really like it the way I started eating it. Just with cottage cheese and nut butter.

I usually prefer peanut butter on my oatmeal, or at least a combo of PB and almond butter, but this morning I opted for just almond butter. It just seemed right.

So good. I could actually taste all those ingredients in there without the extra flavors hiding them- cinnamon, coconut….mmmm.

Any fun plans for the weekend?! I’m volunteering at the Women’s ACC Tournament tonight!

Entry filed under: Breakfast. Tags: .

Dinner in a Flash Enter Exciting Title Here

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anne Marie@New Weigh of Life  |  March 5, 2010 at 9:24 am

    Sounds fun! I’m spending time with my brother for his birthday.

    Reply
  • 2. theprocessofhealing  |  March 5, 2010 at 9:58 am

    Yum! I love my simple oats 🙂 The combo that I started out with, and always love, is whipped banana oats with barney butter. So darn good and comforting 😀

    My plans – dinner out tonight with my mom and then going out tomorrow night with someone. And lots and lots of relaxing (i’m in spring break mode!). Sounds like you have a fun weekend!

    Reply
  • 3. Kelly  |  March 5, 2010 at 11:42 am

    I am so guitly sometimes about adding so much stuff into my oatmeal that I never can taste the individual things. Sometimes the simplest dishes are better but sometimes I just can’t decide what I want and so it all goes in there! haha! 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Amanda (Two Boos Who Eat)  |  March 5, 2010 at 11:43 am

    I’ve never tried cottage cheese in my oats. I usually love adding in banana and milk only.

    Reply
  • 5. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self  |  March 5, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    I’ve definitely found that when I add too much to my oatmeal I don’t even really taste all of the wonderful things I’ve added! Sometimes simple is just better 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. jaclyn@todayslady  |  March 5, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    That ingredient list is basic for us food bloggers, others not so much 🙂 I’ve never tried cottage cheese in my oats but I hear its so good. I’ll have to give it a try! Tonight i’m going out for indian food and i’m so excited!!

    Reply
  • 7. kbwood  |  March 6, 2010 at 12:01 am

    oooo i must try chia seeds! i heard they are great in oats!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

