Kids in the Kitchen

March 5, 2010 at 11:53 pm 8 comments

There’s no such thing as “too early” to learn about nutritious eating. I’m not talking calories and fat, I’m talking healthy choices.

Tonight at the women’s ACC tournament I had the opportunity to pass out brochures encouraging kids to stop by certain stations to learn about healthy habits. Some of those stations included exciting exercise, portion distortion, and rethink your drink.

Before I headed to the tournament I grabbed a few snacks. I can’t talk about food all night and be hungry!

I had a quick tasting plate of Granny Smith apples, sharp cheddar cheese, and Wheat Thins Multigrain crackers.

snack plate cheese and apples

Not such a great picture, but yay for the ACC tournament!acc

I was pretty disappointed I didn’t get to work with kids at the different stations, but at least I was able to help a little by passing out booklets.

On the way home I stopped at Spring Garden Pizza (the same place Kelly and I went for pizza & beer after our marathon relay) and picked up some pizza. The husband and I split a half carnivore/ half buffalo pizza. We had to talk them into making it half and half…geez! (Wanna guess whose side was whose?!)

pizza buffalo pizza

Now off for some sleep and work in the am! And hopefully finally catching up on some homework! Gee what an exciting Saturday. I hope yours is looking better than mine!! 🙂

Entry filed under: Dinner. Tags: , , , .

Enter Exciting Title Here Pumpkin Cheesecake for Breakfast

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Madeline - Greens and Jeans  |  March 6, 2010 at 12:31 am

    I have to work all weekend, so at least your weekend will top mine!

    Reply
    • 2. Heather  |  March 6, 2010 at 8:13 am

      I’ll be at work too…boooo

      Reply
  • 3. todayslady  |  March 6, 2010 at 2:03 am

    Yumm apples and cheese are so good together! I’m going to be doing homework all weekend too 😦

    Reply
  • 4. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self  |  March 6, 2010 at 6:28 am

    I’m so glad you had a good volunteering experience! I agree that it’s never too early to start learning about healthy choices. However, I once overheard a mom telling her four-year-old daughter how many calories were in her Dairy Queen blizzard…I do not think that a four-year-old should even know what a calorie is!

    Reply
  • 5. Shannon  |  March 6, 2010 at 7:46 am

    I have a weekend of studying ahead too. Ugh! Good luck 🙂

    What a great experience with the kids. Never to early to be introduced to yummy, but healthy foods!

    Reply
  • 6. marathonmaiden  |  March 6, 2010 at 8:33 am

    what a cool thing to do with the kids! i know it was probably impractical at the tourney but have you ever thought of doing a cooking thing with kids? i’ve read that when kids help cook they make healthier choices

    Reply
  • 7. abbynormally  |  March 6, 2010 at 8:44 am

    THat’s so cool that youn got an opportunity to do that!!!

    Reply
  • 8. Kelly  |  March 6, 2010 at 9:42 am

    hmmmm… pizza looks delish!! I had already forgotten about that place (dont know how). we need to go back for that special!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

