Dos & Don’ts of Healthy Living

March 6, 2010 at 7:59 pm 10 comments

Dinner

I wanted something for dinner that wasn’t leftovers for once, but was just as simple. I opted for spaghetti, but of course I had to throw in some veggies.

First I shredded some zucchini.

zucchini

Then heated it up with some spinach. Seasoned with pepper, garlic & onion powders, and nutmeg. I love zucchini and nutmeg together.spinach and zucchini

Plus a little assistance from Mr. Bertolli. Fire Roasted Spaghetti sauce. pasta sauce

Topped with some parmesan cheese and shredded Monterey Jack cheese.

sghetti

Mmm. So good. So easy. So not leftovers.

veggie spaghetti

Some advice in the form of:

Dos & Don’ts

Don’t

Eat spicy buffalo pizza and then decide to run 7.5 miles.

Do

Follow up a run with fro you. (Georgia peach & tart pina colada with coconut & rainbow sprinkles.

fro yo

Don’t

Play pick up sticks with your dinner

Do

Pick them up and put them in the pot.

Oops I probably should have put that under don’t and not admitted to the world that I firmly believe in the 5 second rule… and the 10 second rule….

pick up sticks

Do

Make good use of time and do the dishes while waiting for the water to boil.

Don’t

Confuse the dishwasher detergent with parmesan cheese (Don’t worry, I didn’t- but I had to think about it for a minute)

Don’t

Chug water out of plastic bottle that’s been sitting in your car for who knows how long

Do

Drink wine with girlfriends….gonna go do that one now 🙂

Entry filed under: Dinner, Training. Tags: , , .

Lemonade Stands Peanut Butter Banana Waffles

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jess (Fit Chick in the City)  |  March 6, 2010 at 8:10 pm

    Fun post! Enjoy your wine with your friends!

    Reply
  • 2. Julie  |  March 6, 2010 at 8:11 pm

    what a great dinner! .. You’re do’s and don’t lists is fun! I totally am for the 10 second rule while im at home!

    Reply
  • 3. theprocessofhealing  |  March 6, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    Enjoy your wine girl!!!
    And the georgia peach fro yo.. sounds wonderful!

    Reply
  • 4. Shayna @ Cuts and Curves  |  March 6, 2010 at 11:22 pm

    cute post. I love the dos and don’ts. That spaghetti looks so yummy.

    Reply
  • 5. lessonstolearn  |  March 7, 2010 at 5:54 am

    I like the shredded zucchini in the pasta sauce. I’ll have to add that next time. Hope you had a great night out!

    Reply
  • 6. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self  |  March 7, 2010 at 6:51 am

    Cute post! Don’t worry, I think most people subscribe to the 5…errr…10 second rule, they’re just not brave enough to admit it! 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Lindsayruns  |  March 7, 2010 at 7:06 am

    What cute floors! See, they don’t even look dirty. Don’t worry abou it. Quite ashamed to admit that my rule is pick up what I want and then call the dogs. “Clean it up” is a command in our house! ….I also mop….

    Reply
  • 8. Anna  |  March 7, 2010 at 7:55 am

    lol…those are some cute do’s and don’ts 🙂

    Looks like a delicious meal…I’m supposed to get some of that sauce too, but it hasn’t come yet– I hope I get it!

    Reply
  • 9. Amy @ Second City Randomness  |  March 7, 2010 at 9:24 am

    I hope you had fun on your wine night!

    I often ignore the five-second rule. And depending on how lazy I am, the 10-second rule occasionally gets ignored. In my house, I know the cleanliness of my floors, so I figure it’s ok. 😉

    Reply
  • 10. marathonmaiden  |  March 7, 2010 at 10:37 am

    love the dos and don’ts. once when i was in high school me and a few teammates downed a whole pizza, 2 chicken parm subs, french fries and chicken tenders….right before practice. definitely a DONT hahaha 🙂

    and i totally believe in the 5 second rule…which sometimes is a very long 5 seconds 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

