Pumpkin Cheesecake for Breakfast

March 6, 2010 at 8:38 am 12 comments

Pumpkin cheesecake oatmeal that is!! Of course!

It’s not often that the husband sees what I eat for breakfast, but on the rare occasion he does, all he has to say is “Eww”.

I think perhaps I can understand why:

gross oats

But it’s not “eww” it’s “yummm!”

This morning’s mix was my oat combo with Amazing Grass powder, pumpkin, cottage cheese, and pecans.

Topped with wheat berries and extra pecans & coconut, along with the obligatory spoonful of peanut butter.

pumpkin oatmeal pumpkin pie oats oats and pumpkin

Side note: for everyone that says they can’t taste the peanut butter in their oats, here’s my secret: Don’t stir it in! Let it melt a little in the spoon and slide it off on top of the oats. Then you have a peanut butter coated spoon for the first few bites, and then you can scoop up a little more PB with each bite after that. I always have enough to get through even the very last bite!

(Gee who knew it was such a process to eat oatmeal haha).

Yay for a sunny Saturday!!! It’s almost trying to be spring!

Entry filed under: Breakfast. Tags: , , .

Kids in the Kitchen Lemonade Stands

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. marathonmaiden  |  March 6, 2010 at 9:46 am

    ok so i’ll totally try to not mix the pb in and see how that goes. guess i’ll just have to triple the amount of pb because i want gobs of it in every bite haha!

    Reply
  • 2. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad  |  March 6, 2010 at 9:56 am

    I totally agree! NEVER mix in the nut butter! Let it sit on top and take a tiny bit with each bite!!

    Reply
  • 3. theprocessofhealing  |  March 6, 2010 at 10:20 am

    I use the same pb technique!! Yes… I just called it a technique 🙂

    Btw, where do you find wheat berries? From the bulk bins or on the grains aisle or what?

    Reply
    • 4. Heather  |  March 6, 2010 at 2:22 pm

      I got mine from the bulk bins, but some stores have it in the dried beans or boxed grains/pastas section!

      Reply
  • 5. fitandfortysomething  |  March 6, 2010 at 10:35 am

    I do the same ting with my almond butter!
    Have a great saturday!

    Reply
  • 6. Kelly  |  March 6, 2010 at 10:40 am

    That looks good to me…although I must be the only person in the world who doesn’t like the Amazing Grass powder.

    Happy Saturday, Heather!!!

    Reply
    • 7. Heather  |  March 6, 2010 at 2:23 pm

      I don’t like it by itself– just a little mixed in here and there…I haven’t even gone through a whole sample-sized packet yet haha

      Reply
  • 8. Jocelyn @ Peace.Love.Nutrition  |  March 6, 2010 at 10:47 am

    That looks like dessert for breakfast but it’s healthy!! Love it : )

    Reply
  • 9. Shayna @ Cuts and Curves  |  March 6, 2010 at 11:18 am

    I’m gonna have to try these wheat berries everyone’s been throwing in the oats! They look like they would make a lovely textural component to a bowl of oatmeal.. YUM.

    Reply
  • 10. Madeline - Greens and Jeans  |  March 6, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    I think I must have a heightened awareness to peanut butter because I never have a problem tasting it!

    Reply
  • 11. lindsayruns  |  March 6, 2010 at 4:45 pm

    haha I mix it in so I DON’T have to taste it! I like having the fat in the mix, but pb doesn’t do it for me like ab does.

    Reply
  • 12. todayslady  |  March 6, 2010 at 6:13 pm

    The first time I had pb in my oats i stirred it in and couldnt taste it. It took me a few years to do it again. Thankfully when I tried it again I used the proper technique and just let it sit on top 🙂 I’ve never looked back!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

