Archive for March 7, 2010

Red Carpet Banana Bread

A package was waiting for me on the door step when I got home yesterday:

My iHerb order! I figured out during my last trip to Whole Foods that some of the ingredients I wanted were actually cheaper on iHerb, so I went ahead and placed an order.

iherb order

That meant I immediately had to start experimenting!

I also had some old blackified bananas, which only means one thing…

black bananas

Banana bread time!!!

My mom and I have baked banana bread together for as long as I can remember (we had a lot of bananas go bad ;)). We always used the recipe from the Fanny Farmer cookbook, which is fabulous, but I thought it was time to try something new.

I’m totally one for experimenting with recipes while cooking; however experimenting with baking is a no-no for me. Until today!

 

Banana Bread

1 c spelt flour

1/3 c buckwheat flour

2/3 c all purpose flour

3 T flax seed

1 t baking soda

1 t cinnamon

1/2 t nutmeg

1/2 t salt

1 t vanilla

1/4 c agave nectar

1/4 c coconut oil

1 T molasses

1/4 cup homemade applesauce (see below)

2 very ripe bananas

 flour mix

Combine dry ingredients in bowl. Add wet ingredients and stir to combine. You may need to get your hands in there and get a lil dirty. I promise it’ll come together. Spray loaf pan with cooking spray. Place dough in pan, form loaf shape. Top with extra flax seed and crushed walnuts. (Optional). Bake 30-35 minutes at 350 degrees. Toothpick should come out clean.

banana bread dough

For homemade applesauce:

Cut Granny Smith apples into small chunks. Squirt with agave nectar, cinnamon, and lemon juice. Spread out on sheet pan and roast 30-35 minutes 325 degrees, stirring halfway through. Let cool; puree in food processor.

roasted apples

It seems like every time I get this food processor sucker cleaned up and put away, I pull it out again!

homemade applesauce

The possibilities for banana are endless: chocolate chips, walnuts, etc.

  bread loaf banana bread 

I was pretty pleased how the banana bread turned out! Especially for my first stint with not following a recipe. It can use some tweaking, but I’m definitely enjoying it 🙂 I’d probably bake it a few minutes less- the bottom’s just borderline dry. Can’t wait til I have some more black ‘naners. 🙂

 

At one point I looked down at my hand and saw I was bleeding profusely. My thoughts were in slow motion as I thought “when did I cut myself”…”why doesn’t it hurt”…”why’s it so….red?”

Yeaaa that’s when I realized the red food coloring spilled in the cabinet.

bleeding hand 

That was fun to clean up.

red food dye   

 

Dinner

The husband really wanted to go out to dinner tonight, so we went to Poblano’s for some authentic Mexican.

I got the veggie quesadilla with black beans on the side. Yum! SO much food though.

quesadilla

black beans

Then I came home and had a slice of that banana bread I’d been smelling all day!

banana bread slice

By the way, I finally decided I needed to be realistic- there was no way I was going to get all that reading done. I did as much as I could, then bit the bullet and took the test for the conference. Fingers crossed!!

 

Are you watching the Oscars tonight? For the red carpet? For the hosting? For the winners? I’m pretty sure the only movie I’ve even seen that’s nominated is The Blind Side.

March 7, 2010 at 9:42 pm 14 comments

thewordsareblurringtogether

I’ve been reading journal articles on the computer all day! Ah!

Lunch

Tired of seeing this guy? Me too. Yup, still eating the “veggie loaf”. I ran out of homemade tomato sauce, so I used some of the jarred sauce I opened up last night for the spaghetti. At least I still had lots of roasted red peppers left!

roasted red pepper veggie loaf

I tried a new Green Giant blend on the side. This one’s Immunity Blend- yellow & orange carrots, cauliflower, and cranberries in a light butter sauce. I really like cranberries mixed into unexpected things, but there was something I little strange about this combination. I think it might have been the sauce. Or the yellow carrots?

immunity blend

veggie lunch

Hope your Sunday is more exciting than mine! I’ve literally got thousands of pages of online articles to go through so I can take a pre-test for a conference I’m going to in a few weeks.

No passing score on the pre-test = no conference attendance.

Most people registered in December, and have had 3 months to work on all the self-study modules. I registered Friday. Oops.

And I have homework due! Yikes! I’m sitting as close to the window as possible so I can at least enjoy the sunshine even if I can’t be outside playing in it!! Maybe I’ll get outside for a bit later on 😉

Happy sunny Sunday!!

March 7, 2010 at 3:02 pm 6 comments

Peanut Butter Banana Waffles

Gasp! I didn’t have oatmeal for breakfast!!

Instead it was Waffle Sunday!!

waffle breakfast

Whole wheat waffles covered in sliced bananas, peanut butter, walnuts, and flax seed. And coffee of course.

peanut butter banana waffles

Sometimes change is good 🙂

loaded waffle loaded waffles 

Take that IHOP.

 

Happy Sunday!!

March 7, 2010 at 9:16 am 12 comments


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere