Archive for March 8, 2010

Buns of Steel…or Spelt

A somewhat possibly embarrassing fact about me is that I’m obsessed with the Today Show. For real. I can only catch the first few minutes before work, so I record it. All 4 hours. Everyday. (Cough cough loser cough cough.) That’s not to say I actually watch it all. In fact, I delete many of them unwatched. But just the idea of being able to turn it on in the background while I’m making breakfast/dinner/homework/etc is comforting.

I go into work late Mondays so I was actually able to watch some this morning. The husband came down right as Paula Deen came on. I think we were mostly paying attention because she was being a hoot (seriously, more than one part of this segment will more than likely end up on The Soup) but her sons made a pretty good looking burger that the husband really really wanted.

So I made him Paula Deen-inspired burgers for dinner. (Is he spoiled or what?!)

I used the basic idea behind the burger but just used whatever I had on hand instead. And I hate burgers so I decided to make mine using a slice of eggplant.

After put together the husband’s burger, I decided I wanted something more interesting than a slice of eggplant.

eggplant slices

 

I chopped up the eggplant and sauteed it with chopped zucchini and garlic. After it cooled down a little, I zapped it in the food processor to break it up a bit, then stirred in some bread crumbs, parmesan cheese, garlic, cumin, pepper, and a bit of egg substitute. Then I made a patty just like it was a burger and sauteed it.

eggplant burger

Inevitably there was a little leftover, so I made some “meatballs” for another night.

burgers and balls

I didn’t really measure anything but here were the sauces I used:

Ketchup- ketchup, red wine vinegar, cumin, cayenne pepper, Worcestershire sauce

Herbed Mayo- olive oil mayo, basil, thyme, rosemary, lime juice

burger bun

I didn’t have any hamburger rolls, and a good burger needs a good bun. I searched around for some recipes that didn’t take two days to make, but didn’t love any of them. I finally decided to use this Taste of Home recipe and tweak it to my satisfaction. 🙂

Spelt Kaiser Rolls

(The amounts are strange because I did not want anymore leftovers!!!!)

1/2 package active dry yeast

1/2 c warm water

1/2 T sugar

1/2 T Splenda

~1/16 c canola oil

1/2 t salt

1 c bread flour (or all purpose)

1/2 c spelt flour

1/16 c egg substitute

1/2 tsp cold water

Poppy or sesame seeds

Dissolve yeast & sugar in half the warm water. Let sit 5 min. Add in the rest of the water, Splenda, canola oil, salt, flours, and egg substitute. Mix together to form dough. Knead on floured surface until smooth & elastic-y. Place in greased bowl in warm area to rise ~1 hr (I heat the oven up for a minute then turn it off and stick the bowl in there).

After rising, remove from bowl and punch down dough. Form into rolls. Let rise again ~30 min. Top with egg substitute & water mixed together, then sprinkle with seeds. Use scissors to cut “cross” pattern in top of each roll (to get that “kaiser” look).

Bake 15-20 minutes at 400 degrees.

 roll dough dough rising dough dough rolls unbaked roll

Finally all baked:

fresh baked kaiser roll

 

Finally I put the burgers all together with the buns, mayo, ketchup, patties, some romaine lettuce, and a sautéed red onion.

red onion

Check out that gourmet burger.

DSCN2834 

    

Of course what goes with burgers but fries?

burger and fries

I almost fully baked a potato in the microwave, then chopped it into wedges. I dredged the wedges in some egg substitute, then coated them with panko bread crumbs, rosemary, basil, and pepper. Tossed them in the oven to get a bit crispy, and done!

crunchy french fries

 

Pilates

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it on here or not, but occasionally after a long run, my back is the sorest muscle in my body, not my legs. I’m thinking I either run like crap or my core is really weak and it’s getting tired of holding me upright 🙂

Either way, it’s been awhile since I’ve been to Pilates, so I figured it was time! This is the best class. I love how I can miss it for ages and come back, and it’s still exactly the same. Of course as soon as I thought that to myself tonight, the instructor went and threw something new at us. But it was a great class!

 

The rolls were awesome. I have to say I was a bit proud. I grabbed another one as soon as I walked in the door from Pilates. Yum! Gotta go watch some DVRed House now!

March 8, 2010 at 9:26 pm 17 comments

Run & Beans

Run

First a little pre-run banana bread– warmed up and slathered with almond butter & walnuts.

banana bread

Then a little 4.5 mile run. I should probably call it a jog 🙂 An old woman passed me walking. Ok not really, but I wouldn’t have been surprised- I was just plodding along. 🙂

I don’t know whether it was the beautiful sunshine or the awesome selection of music that was randomly playing on my Ipod, but I really enjoyed this run jog.

running trail

It was a good day for people watching too. I don’t really like running when there’s lots of people around, but it can provide for some good distraction. I was trying to decide who was my favorite today:

– the guy who was so adamant about not stopping at the traffic lights that he kept turning around and running back and forth between the two lights, trying to time it out to get a green light. Good luck with that runner dude.

– the HUGE macho tough guys running their tiny wiener dogs. (And yes, I saw more than one.)

the little old ladies that had a honest-to-goodness full out Yogi Bear style wooden picnic basket, complete with a red-checkered picnic blanket and fresh flowers.

By the way, 60 degrees is down right hot compared to the 30 degrees I’ve done most of my running in. The wind may burn your face, but I have to say, I love not dripping sweat. Can’t imagine what running this summer is going to be like…

Lunch

My post run lunch was Mexican leftovers. (Yes, MORE leftovers. At least they were different this time!)

A veggie quesadilla (Luckily I saw that hidden tomato before I ate it and it poisoned me. Blech!)

veggie quesadilla

And black beans. Yummmm.black beans

A little lettuce & sour cream on the side. mexican mexican lunch

And a Zevia!

zevia

Goodness I’m stuffed now. Kinda makes you think about how gigantic restaurant portions can be. What I had today was only about one third of what I had last night. Lots-o-food!

March 8, 2010 at 1:55 pm 14 comments

Bye Bye Miss American Pie

I’ve been singing that song all morning, ever since I decided on apple pie oatmeal for breakfast. When I was roasting apples for yesterday’s banana bread, I made sure to make extra 🙂

I love the smell of cooking apples. Even if you don’t make banana bread, you should roast some apples just for the amazing aroma. The scent always reminds of my mom- she didn’t do a lot of cooking when I was growing up, but one of the things she did make was pork & apple sauce.

Now, I hated the pork part, but I always got excited when I saw it because I knew it meant homemade applesauce. It also meant hearing my mom’s story of pork & applesauce reminding her of her mom, because she insisted pork and applesauce must be served together.

So roasting apples makes me think of my mom thinking of her mom. Aww. Haha.

new oats bowl

Like my new bowl?!

It’s no secret that I’ve always loved grocery shopping- I could browse the isles forever. No matter how many times I go to the grocery store, if I look at the shelves long enough, I can always find something new.

I’m not sure when I became the girl that goes to the kitchenware section of a department store. Grocery store, yes. Kitchenware, no. But apparently yes. I got some awesome new kitchen stuff. This is one of my finds. 🙂

apple pie oats

My apple pie oatmeal is my usual oat combo plus cottage cheese, roasted apples, wheat berries, and chopped walnuts. I added a spoonful of peanut butter too 🙂

apple pie oatmeal

And yummy coffee. I ❤ coffee. 🙂morning coffee

Happy Monday!!! 60 degrees all week- so exciting!!

March 8, 2010 at 10:04 am 5 comments


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere