Bye Bye Miss American Pie

March 8, 2010 at 10:04 am 5 comments

I’ve been singing that song all morning, ever since I decided on apple pie oatmeal for breakfast. When I was roasting apples for yesterday’s banana bread, I made sure to make extra 🙂

I love the smell of cooking apples. Even if you don’t make banana bread, you should roast some apples just for the amazing aroma. The scent always reminds of my mom- she didn’t do a lot of cooking when I was growing up, but one of the things she did make was pork & apple sauce.

Now, I hated the pork part, but I always got excited when I saw it because I knew it meant homemade applesauce. It also meant hearing my mom’s story of pork & applesauce reminding her of her mom, because she insisted pork and applesauce must be served together.

So roasting apples makes me think of my mom thinking of her mom. Aww. Haha.

new oats bowl

Like my new bowl?!

It’s no secret that I’ve always loved grocery shopping- I could browse the isles forever. No matter how many times I go to the grocery store, if I look at the shelves long enough, I can always find something new.

I’m not sure when I became the girl that goes to the kitchenware section of a department store. Grocery store, yes. Kitchenware, no. But apparently yes. I got some awesome new kitchen stuff. This is one of my finds. 🙂

apple pie oats

My apple pie oatmeal is my usual oat combo plus cottage cheese, roasted apples, wheat berries, and chopped walnuts. I added a spoonful of peanut butter too 🙂

apple pie oatmeal

And yummy coffee. I ❤ coffee. 🙂morning coffee

Happy Monday!!! 60 degrees all week- so exciting!!

Entry filed under: Breakfast. Tags: , , .

Red Carpet Banana Bread Run & Beans

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Maria  |  March 8, 2010 at 10:24 am

    I love your version of oats this morning. Mmmm!

    Reply
  • 2. theprocessofhealing  |  March 8, 2010 at 11:14 am

    Yum yum, your oats sound fabulous! My great-grandmother used to make homemade cinnamon applesauce all of the time and it was to DIE for. Maybe I should try my hand at it…
    And I tried wheat berries after seeing it on your blog (and Kath’s) and i’m in love! thanks for the idea!
    Love the bowl. I’ve recently begun browsing the cookware section too and I also love it 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Christine (The Raw Project)  |  March 8, 2010 at 11:57 am

    Looks good, I can just imagine how wonderful it smells 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Shayna @ Cuts and Curves  |  March 8, 2010 at 1:45 pm

    Love the oats. I was planning to do this soon! You’re so right, there isn’t a better a smell that roasting apples.

    Your new bowl is so cute. Love the colour

    Reply
  • 5. Heather  |  March 8, 2010 at 7:08 pm

    Love going apple picking and then making applesauce…smells delicious!

    In fact, I have a macintosh apple candle that i burn in my office sometimes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

