Buns of Steel…or Spelt

March 8, 2010 at 9:26 pm 17 comments

A somewhat possibly embarrassing fact about me is that I’m obsessed with the Today Show. For real. I can only catch the first few minutes before work, so I record it. All 4 hours. Everyday. (Cough cough loser cough cough.) That’s not to say I actually watch it all. In fact, I delete many of them unwatched. But just the idea of being able to turn it on in the background while I’m making breakfast/dinner/homework/etc is comforting.

I go into work late Mondays so I was actually able to watch some this morning. The husband came down right as Paula Deen came on. I think we were mostly paying attention because she was being a hoot (seriously, more than one part of this segment will more than likely end up on The Soup) but her sons made a pretty good looking burger that the husband really really wanted.

So I made him Paula Deen-inspired burgers for dinner. (Is he spoiled or what?!)

I used the basic idea behind the burger but just used whatever I had on hand instead. And I hate burgers so I decided to make mine using a slice of eggplant.

After put together the husband’s burger, I decided I wanted something more interesting than a slice of eggplant.

eggplant slices

 

I chopped up the eggplant and sauteed it with chopped zucchini and garlic. After it cooled down a little, I zapped it in the food processor to break it up a bit, then stirred in some bread crumbs, parmesan cheese, garlic, cumin, pepper, and a bit of egg substitute. Then I made a patty just like it was a burger and sauteed it.

eggplant burger

Inevitably there was a little leftover, so I made some “meatballs” for another night.

burgers and balls

I didn’t really measure anything but here were the sauces I used:

Ketchup- ketchup, red wine vinegar, cumin, cayenne pepper, Worcestershire sauce

Herbed Mayo- olive oil mayo, basil, thyme, rosemary, lime juice

burger bun

I didn’t have any hamburger rolls, and a good burger needs a good bun. I searched around for some recipes that didn’t take two days to make, but didn’t love any of them. I finally decided to use this Taste of Home recipe and tweak it to my satisfaction. 🙂

Spelt Kaiser Rolls

(The amounts are strange because I did not want anymore leftovers!!!!)

1/2 package active dry yeast

1/2 c warm water

1/2 T sugar

1/2 T Splenda

~1/16 c canola oil

1/2 t salt

1 c bread flour (or all purpose)

1/2 c spelt flour

1/16 c egg substitute

1/2 tsp cold water

Poppy or sesame seeds

Dissolve yeast & sugar in half the warm water. Let sit 5 min. Add in the rest of the water, Splenda, canola oil, salt, flours, and egg substitute. Mix together to form dough. Knead on floured surface until smooth & elastic-y. Place in greased bowl in warm area to rise ~1 hr (I heat the oven up for a minute then turn it off and stick the bowl in there).

After rising, remove from bowl and punch down dough. Form into rolls. Let rise again ~30 min. Top with egg substitute & water mixed together, then sprinkle with seeds. Use scissors to cut “cross” pattern in top of each roll (to get that “kaiser” look).

Bake 15-20 minutes at 400 degrees.

 roll dough dough rising dough dough rolls unbaked roll

Finally all baked:

fresh baked kaiser roll

 

Finally I put the burgers all together with the buns, mayo, ketchup, patties, some romaine lettuce, and a sautéed red onion.

red onion

Check out that gourmet burger.

DSCN2834 

    

Of course what goes with burgers but fries?

burger and fries

I almost fully baked a potato in the microwave, then chopped it into wedges. I dredged the wedges in some egg substitute, then coated them with panko bread crumbs, rosemary, basil, and pepper. Tossed them in the oven to get a bit crispy, and done!

crunchy french fries

 

Pilates

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it on here or not, but occasionally after a long run, my back is the sorest muscle in my body, not my legs. I’m thinking I either run like crap or my core is really weak and it’s getting tired of holding me upright 🙂

Either way, it’s been awhile since I’ve been to Pilates, so I figured it was time! This is the best class. I love how I can miss it for ages and come back, and it’s still exactly the same. Of course as soon as I thought that to myself tonight, the instructor went and threw something new at us. But it was a great class!

 

The rolls were awesome. I have to say I was a bit proud. I grabbed another one as soon as I walked in the door from Pilates. Yum! Gotta go watch some DVRed House now!

Entry filed under: Cross training, Dinner. Tags: , , , .

Run & Beans Punkin Oats & DYKT #6

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kara (@ Kara's Marathon)  |  March 8, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    You made every part of that dinner from scratch?? I am beyond impressed! 🙂

    What does spelt flour taste like, btw?

    Reply
    • 2. Heather  |  March 9, 2010 at 8:34 am

      Very very similar to regular whole wheat flour- it’s really mild.

      Reply
  • 3. theprocessofhealing  |  March 8, 2010 at 9:54 pm

    Oh. My. Gosh. Your dinner sounds amazing!!! And the fact that you made homemade burger buns… so cool! You rock! And they look SO amazing girl! Can you come cook those eggplant burgers for ME?! Haha
    I actually love the Today show too. I don’t DVR it but it’s always on in the mornings on the days that I’m home during that time.

    Reply
  • 4. Kelly  |  March 8, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    I have a confession. I too love the Today show and my favorite part is the first 30 seconds. I had to take Coltrane to the vet 3.5 years ago and it wasn’t a good visit so I started crying.. then embarrassed, I then proceeded to tell the vet that it was just a sad day.. 1st Kaite Couric leaving the Today Show, then sad news about the dog!! I actually teared up bc of KC!!
    Did I just admit that?!

    Reply
    • 5. Heather  |  March 9, 2010 at 8:35 am

      Hahaa I love that, too funny!

      Reply
  • 6. marathonmaiden  |  March 8, 2010 at 11:13 pm

    if i had a tv in my room (and analog tvs were still cool) i’d totally watch the entire today show! kind of a good thing i guess that i don’t have one or else i’d be watching all 4 hours haha 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Naomi (onefitfoodie)  |  March 9, 2010 at 6:07 am

    ohh my this looks SO good! spelt homemade buns!!?? can you come over and cook for me pretty please 😉 I do love the today show too! when i workout super early in the morning I always watch it! I love their guests and such great topics!

    Reply
  • 8. lessonstolearn  |  March 9, 2010 at 6:48 am

    Homemade hamburger buns! That is a gourmet burger meal! I love the idea of eggplant burgers!

    I love the Today Show too. I never got to watch it because I had to be at work by 7:30. But now that I am back in school and have a student schedule, I get to catch it a couple days a week.

    Reply
  • 9. Jess (Fit Chick in the City)  |  March 9, 2010 at 6:59 am

    I’m so impressed with your rolls and the veggie burger looks pretty great too!

    I love the Today show also, but really don’t like the last hour.

    Reply
    • 10. Heather  |  March 9, 2010 at 8:36 am

      Yeah the last hour is the worst!!!

      Reply
  • 11. Anna  |  March 9, 2010 at 8:18 am

    Those rolls are beautiful!

    Reply
  • 12. Amy @ Second City Randomness  |  March 9, 2010 at 8:41 am

    Those burgers look out of this world! And I’m glad to see Paula didn’t find a way to shove a couple sticks of butter in each one! 😉

    Reply
  • 13. Heather (Where's the Beach)  |  March 9, 2010 at 8:42 am

    Yummy rolls! I love eggplant patties. I made another batch recently and keep them in the freezer for fast dinners. YUM

    Reply
    • 14. Heather  |  March 9, 2010 at 10:07 am

      Oh I just checked out your recipe–those sounds amazing! I need to try your version next time 🙂

      Reply
  • 15. Melissa  |  March 9, 2010 at 2:30 pm

    Love your dinner! Great job. The burgers sounds delicious…and love that you made homemade buns too. I’m never that hard-working in the kitchen. Haha.

    Reply
  • 16. Sophie  |  March 9, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    Awesome – unique veggie burgers! Even more awesome – homemade hamburger buns! YES!! =)

    Reply
  • 17. Something Fishy « with a Side of Sneakers  |  March 9, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    […] nothing. I used up my entire allotment of creative cooking ability for the week on last night’s eggplant burger & homemade spelt rolls I […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

