Veggie-fied

March 10, 2010 at 12:18 pm 14 comments

Today’s lunch was all about using up some veggies.

I tossed some eggplant, red bell pepper, spinach, red onion, and frozen corn kernels into the food processor with a little Italian seasoning and black pepper.

veggies

Then I mixed in a little bit of buckwheat flour, parmesan cheese, and egg substitute so I could form them into patties. Sautéed them for a few minutes on each side and lunch was done!

eggplant patties

I pretended I was on Top Chef and served them on a bed of marinara & hot sauce.

eggplant patties in sauce

I had some Veggie Patch corn nuggets on the side. I guess they’re the sister of the spinach nuggets I had last night. Interesting taste- kind of like a mozzarella stick that accidently made contact with some neighboring corn. I probably wouldn’t buy these again either.

corn nuggets

And the final homemade spelt roll. I’m so regretted not making the whole batch. So hearty & doughy…mmm.

spelt roll

And that was lunch!

veggie lunch

Entry filed under: Lunch. Tags: , , , , .

Almost Spring Graffiti’s

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kalli@fitandfortysomething  |  March 10, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    Love your lunch! How creative….

    Reply
  • 2. Shayna @ Cuts and Curves  |  March 10, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    It looks like everyone is having some form of burger for lunch today! Yours look awesome.

    Reply
  • 4. Kelly  |  March 10, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    Yum…looks great to me! 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Lisa (bakebikeblog)  |  March 10, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    What a great way to use up vegies! LOVE IT!

    Reply
  • 6. Anna  |  March 10, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    Ooh, those are so pretty! Love it!

    Reply
  • 7. Ann @ Healthy Tasty Chow  |  March 10, 2010 at 6:48 pm

    This looks wonderful!

    Reply
  • 8. Morgan @ Healthy Happy Place  |  March 10, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    How do you get the dough to rise so beautifully when you bake bread? I’ve had 2 failed attempts so far. The dough doesn’t even rise 1 inch!!! what am I doing wrong? I dissolved the yeast in warm milk, then added the flours, etc and kneaded for 10 minutes. Then I let it sit in a greased bowl, covered with warm cloth and NOTHING happened. any tips?

    Reply
    • 9. Heather  |  March 11, 2010 at 9:16 am

      Hmm I think most of mine is good luck! Are you making sure your bowl is in a warm place? I used to put it in our entertainment center but we don’t have it anymore, so I heat the oven up just a teeny tiny bit then put it in there. I think that makes the biggest difference. Mine never “doubles’ in size like they say, but it does seem to rise enough!

      Reply
  • 10. todayslady  |  March 10, 2010 at 7:59 pm

    That roll looks perfect, great job making them!! I love the patties on the marinara sauce, you’re right, very top chef-like!

    Reply
  • 11. lessonstolearn  |  March 11, 2010 at 6:41 am

    I love that idea! So pretty too. Did you cook the veggies before they went in the food processor?

    Reply
    • 12. Heather  |  March 11, 2010 at 9:17 am

      Nope, they went in raw!

      Reply
  • 13. Sophie  |  March 11, 2010 at 10:36 am

    Your home made veggie burgers always look amazing! I have to try!

    Reply
  • 14. Heather  |  March 11, 2010 at 11:17 am

    Those look like delicious veggie patties!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

