Archive for March 12, 2010

Pass Me a Margarita

It was just one of those days that would really get better if I stopped for a margarita on the way home from work.

So I did….in fro yo form!! I went to Feeney’s yet again (seriously if I die an early death it’s from fro yo overload- and I’ll be perfectly happy with that).

feeney's fro yo

I went for the Tequila Margarita flavor, which was actually quite good, but didn’t end up getting it. I’m impressed with whoever makes these flavors. They always taste exactly like the name implies- I could actually taste margarita -ness, followed by a hint of salt. Seriously impressed.

But the cake batter and peanut butter flavors won out in the end. I would’ve gotten the margarita too, but the thought of margarita touching my peanut butter was enough to hold me back.

I topped the PB fro yo with crushed graham cracker crumbs and the cake batter with coconut and rainbow sprinkles. Now that’s a happy Friday.

I’m going out to dinner with friends from college tonight, so I had a plate of snacks while I changed out of work clothes to hold me over until dinner. This seems to be the weekend routine.

cheese and crackers

Granny smith apple slices, sharp cheddar cheese, and Wheat Thins Multigrain crackers.

cheese slices apples and cheese

Plus some juice. (By the way, I say it “joooos”. I don’t know why. It makes me happy. Try it, it’s more fun.) fruit juice

Now it’s officially time for….

….

THE FRIDAY DANCE!!! Ready GO!!!! *dance**dance**dance*

March 12, 2010 at 7:13 pm 9 comments

Veggies Re-Vamped

Lunch today was essentially last night’s dinner in different form.

All the same veggies came to the party: asparagus, eggplant, red onion, red pepper, and garlic. Plus a crumbled up left over eggplant patty just for fun.

Really it was just an excuse for me to have more goat cheese, short from eating it straight out of the wrapper.

veggies

After the veggies were cooked I doused it in red pepper pesto. Mmm mmm.

veggies & goat cheese

Instead of pizza, I made a wrap using a whole wheat tortilla instead. Plus some veggie nuggets- two spinach and one corn. (Someone’s indecisive….hey, I like variety)

wrap

I don’t know what it is about pizza that makes things taste so darn yummy. This is nearly identically to the pizza I had last night, yet the pizza was SO much better than this wrap. (Not that the wrap wasn’t good…the pizza just kicked it’s butt).

Then I had some rice pudding for dessert! It’s not really dessert. It’s more like a side of creamy rice. Interesting.

rice pudding

 

Today is a day PACKED full of deadlines, so back to busting my butt I go!

March 12, 2010 at 1:22 pm 6 comments

Rancid-ness

Today was another one of those mornings when I couldn’t decide which way I wanted to go with my oats. Since it worked out so well yesterday with the pumpkin and apple oatmeal combo, I figured I’d go the route of not deciding again this morning.

oatmeal

Today I went for stovetop banana oats with cottage cheese, topped with roasted apples, wheat berries, coconut, and chopped walnuts.

apple pie oats

And my favorite morning companion, peanut butter.

apple banana oats

It was looking so promising at this point…

apple banana oatmeal

But you know how they say you should trust your instincts?

banana apple oats

I didn’t.

I thought something tasted a little “off”. Most of the way through the bowl, I decided it was the wheat berries. So, I ate through those quickly…

As I was washing my bowl, I checked the wheat berries “just to see”….oh goodness. SO BAD. I don’t know why I didn’t notice when I was making them. Although batch cooking these guys was a great idea at the time, I guess I went a little overboard- clearly I didn’t eat them fast enough.

Hopefully I won’t pay for this later…..

March 12, 2010 at 6:09 am 13 comments


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere