Rancid-ness

March 12, 2010 at 6:09 am 13 comments

Today was another one of those mornings when I couldn’t decide which way I wanted to go with my oats. Since it worked out so well yesterday with the pumpkin and apple oatmeal combo, I figured I’d go the route of not deciding again this morning.

oatmeal

Today I went for stovetop banana oats with cottage cheese, topped with roasted apples, wheat berries, coconut, and chopped walnuts.

apple pie oats

And my favorite morning companion, peanut butter.

apple banana oats

It was looking so promising at this point…

apple banana oatmeal

But you know how they say you should trust your instincts?

banana apple oats

I didn’t.

I thought something tasted a little “off”. Most of the way through the bowl, I decided it was the wheat berries. So, I ate through those quickly…

As I was washing my bowl, I checked the wheat berries “just to see”….oh goodness. SO BAD. I don’t know why I didn’t notice when I was making them. Although batch cooking these guys was a great idea at the time, I guess I went a little overboard- clearly I didn’t eat them fast enough.

Hopefully I won’t pay for this later…..

Entry filed under: Breakfast. Tags: , , .

“Make Your Own” Night Veggies Re-Vamped

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kelly  |  March 12, 2010 at 8:55 am

    Eeek, hopefully not!

    Reply
  • 2. Matt  |  March 12, 2010 at 9:08 am

    How long do wheatberries last?

    Reply
    • 3. Heather  |  March 12, 2010 at 9:45 am

      Apparently not 2 weeks if they’re already cooked 😉

      Reply
  • 4. abbynormally  |  March 12, 2010 at 9:29 am

    Oh gross! I am so scared of rotten food that I throw it out if there is even a possibility that it might be bad. My husband thinks I waste food, I like to think that I’m cautious!

    Reply
  • 5. Heather (Where's the Beach)  |  March 12, 2010 at 9:37 am

    Oh no. I’ve had that happen before too. Hope you don’t end up sickly!!

    Reply
  • 6. Becky @ flybynyght  |  March 12, 2010 at 10:28 am

    uh-oh. I’m in the same boat with some mashed cauliflower right now. We shall see…

    Reply
  • 7. Melissa  |  March 12, 2010 at 11:16 am

    Oh no, sorry your breakfast didn’t taste great. At least it photographed well! Despite reading your post, I still wanna take a bite. Haha.

    Reply
  • 8. Danielle  |  March 12, 2010 at 11:34 am

    eww 😕
    If it makes you feel any better…one time my oats were a little grey-looking. I ignored it and ate it anyways and then when I was cleaning the pan, I discovered it was the black lining FROM the pan. It was in my oatmeal. And I’m still alive 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. Samantha Angela @ Bikini Birthday  |  March 12, 2010 at 11:35 am

    I’m sure you’ll be ok. I eat ‘bad’ food all the time.

    Reply
  • 10. Kelly  |  March 12, 2010 at 12:03 pm

    Oh…I am sending your tummy well wishes!!

    Reply
  • 11. Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down)  |  March 12, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    Ugh! I hate when things like that happen. I’ve done this with milk before and felt so grossed out!

    I just found out during the last time I made wheatberries, that they’re super easy to freeze! It makes it nice for when you want to cook up a big batch but don’t plan on eating them all too quickly. 😀

    Reply
  • 12. Teacherwoman  |  March 12, 2010 at 5:40 pm

    Oooh.. that sucks! Yikes.

    Reply
  • 13. John  |  March 13, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    IT’ll just make you tougher 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

