Archive for March 14, 2010

Amazing Grass Review

I finally got up the nerve to choke down the rest of my dinner from Graffiti’s Bistro. Surprisingly, a few days in the fridge calmed the overwhelming saltiness down quite a bit.

 graffiti's

I still decided to chase it down with a Kashi oatmeal cookie. 🙂

kashi cookie

 

Amazing Grass Review

 Amazing Grass kindly sent me some product samples to review, so I’m gonna do just that. So you’ve probably seen this stuff all over the blog world. You’ve probably heard how awesome and amazing it is. I think that’s nut-so.

 Amazing Grass samples

Let’s talk about the powders first. There’s a couple different kinds:

Amazing Meal– Original, Chocolate, Pomegranate Mango

SuperFood– Green, Berry, Chocolate, & Kidz

The SuperFood is basically a super duper greens powder that gets you 7 servings of veggies in one swoop. The Amazing Meal is a more robust relative of the SuperFood powder- it’s the greens powder, protein, enzymes, and probiotics.

 

When you open the packet you’re greeted by the lovely aroma of….dirt.

Mixed straight into a drink per directions, it transforms into….well, liquid dirt.

I really have no desire to drink dirt. I’m sure it’s super healthy and all, but I’m not interested in choking back dirt when I could just eat some tasty veggies instead.

That being said, I really really like using the powders as mix-ins. Using the whole packet is a bit much for me, but I’ve found if I use a little less, I”m perfectly satisfied.

You’ve seen me use the Amazing Meal powder in my oatmeal. I’ve been using original, but I bet the chocolate would taste pretty good in there too. (Not so sure about the Pomegranate Mango in oats.)

I also like it as an add in to green monsters and other smoothies.

DSCN2592DSCN2907

DSCN2908

My favorite combo has probably been the Chocolate Amazing Meal with oatmeal, banana, and almond milk. SO GOOD.

green monster   

Even though I’d already decided I didn’t like the drinks mixed plain, I’m a fair and thorough reviewer, so I tried one of the other powders plain with water.

DSCN2042

I was delightfully surprised. Honestly, it tasted like healthy chocolate milk. This one I could definitely drink all by itself. This one was the Kidz SuperFood Chocolate.

 

Now let’s move on to the GreenSuperFood bars. These are fairly calorie dense for a bar, but they’re packed with good stuff. However, they’re not for me.

They’re not bad, but they’re not great. I can easily see someone else loving these, they just weren’t my style. The chocolate coating was a little plastic-y. I’m a little biased though, I don’t really like chocolate. They kind of tasted non-descript. I’d say of all the ones I tried, I like the Chocolate Peanut Butter the best.

Greens Super Food

Amazing grass bars

So bottom line, would I keep buying these? I may have insulted them by comparing them to dirt, but I would buy the powders again if they didn’t cost an arm & a leg.  I wouldn’t by the bars- there’s other options that I’d rather have. I don’t need my greens in bar form, but that’s just me. Bring on the green powder 🙂

Have you tried Amazing Grass? Or other “greens” powder? What do you think?!

March 14, 2010 at 12:39 pm 18 comments

Stovetop Oats

I’ve been on a stovetop kick lately, so I just kept it going this morning.

banana oats

Just the ol’ oat combo with cottage cheese and naners. Yum.stovetop oats And coffee. Oh so needed.

morning coffee

Hey if you look closely you can see the lights over the breakfast table in my coffee….haha. I thought it was some weird splotch from the So Delicious Coconut Creamer at first, but apparently not.

March 14, 2010 at 8:08 am 8 comments


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere