Amazing Grass Review

March 14, 2010 at 12:39 pm 18 comments

I finally got up the nerve to choke down the rest of my dinner from Graffiti’s Bistro. Surprisingly, a few days in the fridge calmed the overwhelming saltiness down quite a bit.

 graffiti's

I still decided to chase it down with a Kashi oatmeal cookie. 🙂

kashi cookie

 

Amazing Grass Review

 Amazing Grass kindly sent me some product samples to review, so I’m gonna do just that. So you’ve probably seen this stuff all over the blog world. You’ve probably heard how awesome and amazing it is. I think that’s nut-so.

 Amazing Grass samples

Let’s talk about the powders first. There’s a couple different kinds:

Amazing Meal– Original, Chocolate, Pomegranate Mango

SuperFood– Green, Berry, Chocolate, & Kidz

The SuperFood is basically a super duper greens powder that gets you 7 servings of veggies in one swoop. The Amazing Meal is a more robust relative of the SuperFood powder- it’s the greens powder, protein, enzymes, and probiotics.

 

When you open the packet you’re greeted by the lovely aroma of….dirt.

Mixed straight into a drink per directions, it transforms into….well, liquid dirt.

I really have no desire to drink dirt. I’m sure it’s super healthy and all, but I’m not interested in choking back dirt when I could just eat some tasty veggies instead.

That being said, I really really like using the powders as mix-ins. Using the whole packet is a bit much for me, but I’ve found if I use a little less, I”m perfectly satisfied.

You’ve seen me use the Amazing Meal powder in my oatmeal. I’ve been using original, but I bet the chocolate would taste pretty good in there too. (Not so sure about the Pomegranate Mango in oats.)

I also like it as an add in to green monsters and other smoothies.

DSCN2592DSCN2907

DSCN2908

My favorite combo has probably been the Chocolate Amazing Meal with oatmeal, banana, and almond milk. SO GOOD.

green monster   

Even though I’d already decided I didn’t like the drinks mixed plain, I’m a fair and thorough reviewer, so I tried one of the other powders plain with water.

DSCN2042

I was delightfully surprised. Honestly, it tasted like healthy chocolate milk. This one I could definitely drink all by itself. This one was the Kidz SuperFood Chocolate.

 

Now let’s move on to the GreenSuperFood bars. These are fairly calorie dense for a bar, but they’re packed with good stuff. However, they’re not for me.

They’re not bad, but they’re not great. I can easily see someone else loving these, they just weren’t my style. The chocolate coating was a little plastic-y. I’m a little biased though, I don’t really like chocolate. They kind of tasted non-descript. I’d say of all the ones I tried, I like the Chocolate Peanut Butter the best.

Greens Super Food

Amazing grass bars

So bottom line, would I keep buying these? I may have insulted them by comparing them to dirt, but I would buy the powders again if they didn’t cost an arm & a leg.  I wouldn’t by the bars- there’s other options that I’d rather have. I don’t need my greens in bar form, but that’s just me. Bring on the green powder 🙂

Have you tried Amazing Grass? Or other “greens” powder? What do you think?!

Entry filed under: Lunch, Review. Tags: , , , .

Stovetop Oats The Week Before the Half

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cole  |  March 14, 2010 at 12:45 pm

    I’ve never tried Amazing Grass before but I’ve been wanting to give the chocolate powder a try. I think I can give “healthy chocolate milk” a chance

    Reply
  • 2. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad  |  March 14, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    I’ve only tried 2 of the powders. UGH!!!!! I’ve ruined my green monsters with them. I agree with the review 100%. These aren’t for me!

    I would be open to trying the bars though.

    Reply
  • 3. John  |  March 14, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    I haven’t tried AG as they aren’t available here. I think we probably have a similar product called VegeGreens which had the nutrients of 60 different vegie,grasses and seaweed? Anyways like you and AG I can’t stand them straight like they suggest so have it in a shake which I like. I think they make a diff to me because I don’t always get my veggies. However at $1/serv roughly I didn’t reload since I ran out 2 weeks ago. May now that I won some $ at poker 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. theprocessofhealing  |  March 14, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    The powders are ok to me. Like you, I can’t really use a whole packet but if I use half in a GM, they are good and I get a double dose of greens.
    However, I LOVE the bars!!! To each his own 😀

    Reply
  • 5. Lisa (bakebikeblog)  |  March 14, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    I have never tried Amazing grass – I am not sure that they even sell it in Australia?!

    Reply
  • 6. Kelly  |  March 14, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    I have not tried the AG bars but I have tried the AG chocolate powder and actually hated it!! I thought it literally tasted lke grass. I could only choke down about half the smoothie and I gave the rest to my husband and he took one sip and threw it out. So…I am afraid to try the bars!

    Reply
    • 7. Heather  |  March 15, 2010 at 9:08 am

      I think the bars are worse than the powder, but they don’t taste or smell like dirt, so you may think differently! I can really only use a little bit of the powder or I consider my smoothie or oats ruined 🙂

      Reply
  • 8. Heather (Where's the Beach)  |  March 14, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    I have not tried Amazing Grass. I appreciate the reviews! And yummy on the Kashi Cookie!

    Reply
  • 9. Kara (@ Kara's Marathon)  |  March 14, 2010 at 6:59 pm

    I like the superfood powder in my green monsters, but I haven’t tried any of the other flavors yet! The bars freak me out a bit, but so many bloggers seem to like them…I’m going to have to try them for myself soon. Maybe I’ll shoot Amazing Grass an e-mail…

    Reply
  • 10. Danielle  |  March 14, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    thanks for the honest review! I’ve tried the chocolate kid’s superfood and I thought it was pretty tasty 🙂

    Reply
  • 11. rollerkoesterrun  |  March 14, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    I hadn’t tried these, but have been seriously thinking about it. Thank you so much for such an honest review! It is truly appreciated 🙂

    ~Christie

    Reply
  • 12. Samantha Angela @ Bikini Birthday  |  March 14, 2010 at 8:10 pm

    i am not one for bars, but I do like things that I can mix into smoothies. I usually use a plain greens powder in my smoothie–nothing chocolate flavoured or anything like that

    Reply
  • 13. Lacey  |  March 14, 2010 at 9:39 pm

    the only one i will drink is choc amaz meal. i haven’t tried the bars. lol. i enjoyed your review.

    mmm kashi cookies.

    Reply
  • 14. lessonstolearn  |  March 15, 2010 at 6:40 am

    I got the same sample pack from Amazing Grass. I felt the same way. The kids versions of the mixes were the best, I think. And I prefer the mixes mixed in with lots of other things, instead fo straight up with water.

    Reply
  • 15. todayslady  |  March 15, 2010 at 8:35 am

    I’ve never had green powders before but I want to try them. I think they’d be good in smoothies. I’m glad the one you mixed with water tasted good! I would have thought it would have tasted like dirt!

    Reply
  • 16. Sophie  |  March 15, 2010 at 8:46 am

    I’ve never tried them, but I did try a hemp shake once that also tasted like dirt! I think I’ll stick to my green monsters with fresh spinach =)

    Reply
    • 17. Heather  |  March 15, 2010 at 9:09 am

      Fresh spinach definitely wins 🙂

      Reply
  • 18. Christy  |  March 15, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    I love Amazing Grass in my smoothies! I’ve tried the bars and I’m not really a fan of those.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

