Stovetop Oats

March 14, 2010 at 8:08 am 8 comments

I’ve been on a stovetop kick lately, so I just kept it going this morning.

banana oats

Just the ol’ oat combo with cottage cheese and naners. Yum.stovetop oats And coffee. Oh so needed.

morning coffee

Hey if you look closely you can see the lights over the breakfast table in my coffee….haha. I thought it was some weird splotch from the So Delicious Coconut Creamer at first, but apparently not.

Entry filed under: Breakfast. Tags: , , , .

You and Your Bran Muffins! Amazing Grass Review

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down)  |  March 14, 2010 at 8:20 am

    Love cottage cheese ‘n’ oats. It’s been way too long since I’ve had this combo…yum! 😀

    Reply
  • 2. Jessica @ the process of healing  |  March 14, 2010 at 9:39 am

    Sometimes simple is better 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Daniel  |  March 14, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    I still haven’t tried cottage cheese with my oats but it sounds really good! What does it add to the bowl? Like, a cheese danish kind of taste? Or is it textural? Or maybe both?

    Also, what brand / fat % cottage cheese do you use? It’s so hard to find some decent cottage cheese (especially fat free) that doesn’t have 15+ ingredients!

    And do you put it in at the end or when you start the oats?

    Sorry for all of the questions, just like to be prepared when I try new things! 😀

    Reply
    • 4. Heather  |  March 14, 2010 at 1:01 pm

      It mostly adds volume/texture– and protein!! I don’t taste it at all really. I use Breakstone’s Small Curd Fat Free. I’m picky when it comes to cottage cheese- I haven’t found any other brand I like yet. I put it in after I’ve cooked the oats, then cook it a bit longer to help blend in the cottage cheese. Hope that helps!

      Reply
  • 5. marathonmaiden  |  March 14, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    soooooo call me ignorant (because yes i only eat instant oats) BUT how do you prep stovetop oats?

    Reply
    • 6. Heather  |  March 15, 2010 at 9:07 am

      Honestly pretty much the same was as in the microwave just in a pot on the stove- I put in the oats and let them toast a minute, then pour in the liquid. I use medium heat and just cook until the liquid’s absorbed (only a few minutes really). If I’m adding in anything else, I stir it in while it cooks. That’s it!

      Reply
  • […] Stovetop Oats « with a Side of Sneakers […]

    Reply
  • […] Stovetop Oats « with a Side of Sneakers […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

