Archive for March 15, 2010

Most Exciting Dinner Ever

Made ya look. So not exciting here tonight.

My stomach still hasn’t decided what it’s going to do- get better or get worse. I’m leaning towards better, but I wasn’t really feeling dinner. I’m not one to skip meals, so I went with the most basic thing I could come up with besides cereal. (Which is what I really wanted but I used up the last of the milk in chai tea that I finally decided to have as a post-run snack.)

This was my fav-o-fav meal when I was a kid. Especially in the stage where I rebelled against everything and all things tomato. (Which was basically my entire life until college, when I learned attempting to explain to Papa John’s at 2AM that no, I didn’t want pizza sauce on my pizza was a futile conversation. And then I also learned that pizza sauce didn’t in fact kill me.)

Anyways, I’m talking about spaghetti with butter and parmesan cheese. Except in my adult life I made angel hair pasta with Smart Balance, parmesan cheese, and little basil. Because basil makes it grown up, right?

spaghetti with cheese  spaghetti and parmesan

And a slice of garlic toast. Because you need a side of carb with your carbs.

carbo load

Halfway through I finally got up the courage to try a little spaghetti sauce since it was smelling good.

Hey, you’re supposed to start carbo loading the week before a race. I’m just following sage advice 😉

 

Pilates

Even though I wasn’t feeling 100% I decided tonight was still Pilates night. I defintely took it easy though. The coming week definitely has the potential to be stressful- I wanted to grab a chance while I had it to relax and calm down. Pilates is the perfect mental break for me- it’s calming, yet not so calming that you have time to get lost in your thoughts. (That may be good for some people, but I don’t always want to be in my thoughts! They stress me out!)

So now that I’m feeling good and brain dumped, I guess it’s the perfect time to do some homework….:)

March 15, 2010 at 8:11 pm 14 comments

Runner’s Stomach

Lunch

I could not decide what I wanted to eat for lunch today. Everything I wanted was veggies. I knew I needed some kinda protein though so I kept searching the cupboards.

I finally decided on salmon lettuce wraps.Canned salmon, great northern beans, celery, and brown mustard mixed together and served on romaine lettuce. The lettuce I had didn’t really cater to “wrapping”, so I guess these were more like lettuce boats.

They were really good!!! With Veggie Patch spinach and corn nuggets on the side. I think I like the corn ones better than the spinach ones.

salmon boats salmon salad

 

Run

My run started off wonderfully. The weather was beautiful- 63 degrees & sunny. I was running in capris and a short sleeve shirt for the first time this year. A few miles in, it started getting cloudy & gray. I could feel the temperature dropping- instead of getting hotter the longer I ran, I was actually getting colder. I didn’t mind any of this- I was hoping the rain would hold off, but I didn’t really care about getting wet. I’ve run in the rain before- I don’t melt.

But about 4 miles in, my stomach rebelled. I had parked my car in the middle of the route I wanted to run so I could stop off for a gel and some water a little more than half way through the run. Luckily that I also meant there was a visitor’s center nearby. I ran the 3 or 4 more miles to the visitor’s center, but unfortunately my stomach was still killing me. I decided to just run the mile-ish loop around the visitor’s center so I’d be nearby. I made it about another 1/2 mile before I realized it was a futile effort. I called it a day and headed home.

I’m really really hoping it’s an upset stomach from something I ate or running, but I’ve never felt like this from running. I still have chills & the sweats. Ugh. Not fun. I’m hoping it goes away soon! I always always have a post-run snack, but it’s just not happening today. Not yet anyways.

I did however, make it 8.8 miles in 1:29 before I bailed.

Gotta love the side-effects of running 😉

March 15, 2010 at 3:18 pm 12 comments

Runner’s Stomach

Lunch

I could not decide what I wanted to eat for lunch today. Everything I wanted was veggies. I knew I needed some kinda protein though so I kept searching the cupboards.

I finally decided on salmon lettuce wraps.Canned salmon, great northern beans, celery, and brown mustard mixed together and served on romaine lettuce. The lettuce I had didn’t really cater to “wrapping”, so I guess these were more like lettuce boats.

They were really good!!! With Veggie Patch spinach and corn nuggets on the side. I think I like the corn ones better than the spinach ones.

salmon boats salmon salad

 

Run

My run started off wonderfully. The weather was beautiful- 63 degrees & sunny. I was running in capris and a short sleeve shirt for the first time this year. A few miles in, it started getting cloudy & gray. I could feel the temperature dropping- instead of getting hotter the longer I ran, I was actually getting colder. I didn’t mind any of this- I was hoping the rain would hold off, but I didn’t really care about getting wet. I’ve run in the rain before- I don’t melt.

But about 4 miles in, my stomach rebelled. I had parked my car in the middle of the route I wanted to run so I could stop off for a gel and some water a little more than half way through the run. Luckily that I also meant there was a visitor’s center nearby. I ran the 3 or 4 more miles to the visitor’s center, but unfortunately my stomach was still killing me. I decided to just run the mile-ish loop around the visitor’s center so I’d be nearby. I made it about another 1/2 mile before I realized it was a futile effort. I called it a day and headed home.

I’m really really hoping it’s an upset stomach from something I ate or running, but I’ve never felt like this from running. I still have chills & the sweats. Ugh. Not fun. I’m hoping it goes away soon! I always always have a post-run snack, but it’s just not happening today. Not yet anyways.

I did however, make it 8.8 miles in 1:29 before I bailed.

Gotta love the side-effects of running 😉

March 15, 2010 at 3:18 pm 12 comments

The Week Before the Half

Sorry for the lack of post last night- I wrote it, but apparently the publish button doesn’t click itself…whoops. I was just rambling about my upcoming half since it was officially a week away yesterday, so I’ll just move the rambling to this morning. 😉

But before that, breakfast!

Oats. My oat combo (ahh I’m almost out!!) with bananas, cottage cheese, and PB.

oatmeal and pb

And coffee. Slowly but surely working my way through the Fresh Market Peppermint Blend.

coffee

The Week of…

So by this time next week I’ll have finished running a half marathon. Three months ago I signed up for the Tobacco Road Half Marathon with two friends. It seemed ages and ages away. And now all of a sudden it’s next this week.

While it’s not my first, it still feels like it. The big question is…am I ready?

Am I as ready as I could be? No. Am I ready enough? Yes. Considering everything that it’s taken to get to this point, I’m about as ready as I could be. Did I do as much running as  my training “partners”. Heck no. But if I had, I’d probably be hobbling around like a gimp. So I ran as much as I could, and I’m hoping race-day adrenaline will make up for the rest of it.

My goals for the race? Finish. Seriously, I know everyone says that to not set themselves for not meeting their goals, but in all honesty I’ll be happy with finishing. I’ve struggled through 10 mile training runs, so getting through 13.1 will be completely satisfying.

My secret goal when I signed up for the race was to finish in under 1:58:25. It’s not a random arbitrary number- it was my time for the leg of the marathon relay I did when I was 16.

Although it seems obvious that I’m not 16 anymore, it took starting to run again to really figure that out. Although it’s great to have an ambitious goal, I think I’m gonna have to save this one for another race. Do the math: 1:58 is a 9 minute mile pace. My fastest training runs have been 10:30 at best. So I’m being realistic, it’s not happening. So 2:17-2:24 would be much probable. We’ll see what happens! Like I said, I’m worrying about simply finishing 🙂

The Countdown Begins….

It’s not going to be the ideal week before the race- I wasn’t able to get a long run in yesterday. Hopefully I can today, but I’m not sure yet. It was a weekend of highs and lows in the SoS household- my step-grandparents celebrated their 65th wedding anniversary (isn’t that amazing?!) the same day my husband’s grandmother passed away. There will likely be some traveling in the next few days…

Then the three days leading up to the half marathon, I will be sitting ALL day long. I’ll be at a two and half day conference two hours away- so four hours of driving a day plus 10 hours of lectures. (That’s 12 hrs of driving plus 25 hours of sitting crammed into 2.5 days. Then running at 7am the next morning.) So, I think I might be a little tired come next Monday. 😉

Regardless of all that, I’m nervous but really excited!!

Anybody else racing this weekend?!

March 15, 2010 at 8:23 am 19 comments


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere