Most Exciting Dinner Ever

March 15, 2010 at 8:11 pm 14 comments

Made ya look. So not exciting here tonight.

My stomach still hasn’t decided what it’s going to do- get better or get worse. I’m leaning towards better, but I wasn’t really feeling dinner. I’m not one to skip meals, so I went with the most basic thing I could come up with besides cereal. (Which is what I really wanted but I used up the last of the milk in chai tea that I finally decided to have as a post-run snack.)

This was my fav-o-fav meal when I was a kid. Especially in the stage where I rebelled against everything and all things tomato. (Which was basically my entire life until college, when I learned attempting to explain to Papa John’s at 2AM that no, I didn’t want pizza sauce on my pizza was a futile conversation. And then I also learned that pizza sauce didn’t in fact kill me.)

Anyways, I’m talking about spaghetti with butter and parmesan cheese. Except in my adult life I made angel hair pasta with Smart Balance, parmesan cheese, and little basil. Because basil makes it grown up, right?

spaghetti with cheese  spaghetti and parmesan

And a slice of garlic toast. Because you need a side of carb with your carbs.

carbo load

Halfway through I finally got up the courage to try a little spaghetti sauce since it was smelling good.

Hey, you’re supposed to start carbo loading the week before a race. I’m just following sage advice 😉

 

Pilates

Even though I wasn’t feeling 100% I decided tonight was still Pilates night. I defintely took it easy though. The coming week definitely has the potential to be stressful- I wanted to grab a chance while I had it to relax and calm down. Pilates is the perfect mental break for me- it’s calming, yet not so calming that you have time to get lost in your thoughts. (That may be good for some people, but I don’t always want to be in my thoughts! They stress me out!)

So now that I’m feeling good and brain dumped, I guess it’s the perfect time to do some homework….:)

Entry filed under: Cross training, Dinner. Tags: , , .

Runner’s Stomach Double Nut Butter Oats & DYKT #7

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. theprocessofhealing  |  March 15, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    So that actually sounds pretty good. My little cousin used to LIVE off of pasta and butter and cheese. YUM.
    Glad you are feeling a bit better girl!

    Reply
  • 2. Carolina John  |  March 15, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    Good job getting the pilates in! I need to get my core work done badly.

    Reply
  • 3. Katherine @ Lipgloss and Spandex  |  March 15, 2010 at 11:55 pm

    OMG that is my favorite dinner EVER. My grandma would make it for me when I was a kid, and I still love it (so does my grandpa)! We call it “cheesy noodles” in our family, and the more cheese, the better.

    Reply
  • 4. Lisa (bakebikeblog)  |  March 16, 2010 at 12:29 am

    Hope you feel better soon girl!!!! That pasta actually looks pretty good!!

    Reply
  • 5. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self  |  March 16, 2010 at 5:29 am

    I hope you feel better soon! I know what you mean about wanting to relax but not get too lost in your own thoughts…when I’m stressed, I need something relaxing AND distracting. Perhaps next time I’ll try some pilates!

    Reply
  • 6. Estela @ Weekly Bite  |  March 16, 2010 at 6:14 am

    I use to eat spaghetti like that when I was little too 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. diana  |  March 16, 2010 at 7:07 am

    I love, love, love pasta with a little butter and parm cheese. Sometimes I also toss in a little breadcrumbs and garlic (mix with a little bit of the water the pasta cooked in) so good.

    Reply
  • 8. Anna  |  March 16, 2010 at 7:37 am

    I used to eat something JUST like that when I would stay at one of my friends’ house….it was the only thing she would eat! I’m sure she wasn’t vitamin-deprived or anything 😉

    Looks delicious!

    Reply
  • 9. Heather (Where's the Beach)  |  March 16, 2010 at 7:44 am

    I prefer pilates to yoga myself. Glad you’re leaning towards the getting better and not worse at least.

    Reply
  • 10. Samantha Angela @ Bikini Birthday  |  March 16, 2010 at 7:49 am

    I always eat my pasta with a side of bread. It’s weird. I never eat bread with, like a chicken and vegetable dish though, or with a rice dish. Only with pasta.

    Reply
  • 11. Kelly  |  March 16, 2010 at 8:05 am

    Looks pretty exciting and delicious to me!

    Reply
  • 12. ActiveEggplant  |  March 16, 2010 at 9:17 am

    I haven’t had buttered noodles in AGES…I think it’s time to bust them out at my house now!

    Reply
  • 13. marathonmaiden  |  March 16, 2010 at 10:17 am

    hope your stomach decides to behave soon! i’m torn with spaghetti. i loved it when i was a kid but had a bad experience with it and can’t look at it the same way again. bummer because your dish looks yummy 🙂

    Reply
  • 14. Cassie  |  March 16, 2010 at 3:12 pm

    i love your “carbs w a side of carbs” comment, especially bc last night my fiancee had a pasta sandwich. a PASTA sandwich. i said “ok, so you had a sandwich of carbs?” haha! but sometimes carbs just hit the spot 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

