Runner’s Stomach

March 15, 2010 at 3:18 pm 12 comments

Lunch

I could not decide what I wanted to eat for lunch today. Everything I wanted was veggies. I knew I needed some kinda protein though so I kept searching the cupboards.

I finally decided on salmon lettuce wraps.Canned salmon, great northern beans, celery, and brown mustard mixed together and served on romaine lettuce. The lettuce I had didn’t really cater to “wrapping”, so I guess these were more like lettuce boats.

They were really good!!! With Veggie Patch spinach and corn nuggets on the side. I think I like the corn ones better than the spinach ones.

salmon boats salmon salad

 

Run

My run started off wonderfully. The weather was beautiful- 63 degrees & sunny. I was running in capris and a short sleeve shirt for the first time this year. A few miles in, it started getting cloudy & gray. I could feel the temperature dropping- instead of getting hotter the longer I ran, I was actually getting colder. I didn’t mind any of this- I was hoping the rain would hold off, but I didn’t really care about getting wet. I’ve run in the rain before- I don’t melt.

But about 4 miles in, my stomach rebelled. I had parked my car in the middle of the route I wanted to run so I could stop off for a gel and some water a little more than half way through the run. Luckily that I also meant there was a visitor’s center nearby. I ran the 3 or 4 more miles to the visitor’s center, but unfortunately my stomach was still killing me. I decided to just run the mile-ish loop around the visitor’s center so I’d be nearby. I made it about another 1/2 mile before I realized it was a futile effort. I called it a day and headed home.

I’m really really hoping it’s an upset stomach from something I ate or running, but I’ve never felt like this from running. I still have chills & the sweats. Ugh. Not fun. I’m hoping it goes away soon! I always always have a post-run snack, but it’s just not happening today. Not yet anyways.

I did however, make it 8.8 miles in 1:29 before I bailed.

Gotta love the side-effects of running 😉

Entry filed under: Lunch, Training. Tags: , , , .

The Week Before the Half Most Exciting Dinner Ever

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heather (Where's the Beach)  |  March 15, 2010 at 3:37 pm

    Uh oh, really hope it’s not something more. That doesn’t sound good at all!

    Reply
  • 2. Lisa (bakebikeblog)  |  March 15, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    oh no – I know that feeling too well 😦 Well done on getting 8.8 in – thats great!!!!

    Reply
  • 3. Whitney @ Lettuce Love  |  March 15, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    That lunch looks really good. 8.8 miles is great, I have yet to run that far. And I am super jealous of your warm weather — it is still in the 40s here!

    Reply
  • 4. Kelly  |  March 15, 2010 at 3:56 pm

    Ugh…sorry about the tummy ache! Hope it goes away just as fast as it came on!!

    Reply
  • 5. lessonstolearn  |  March 15, 2010 at 6:02 pm

    I sure hope you wake up feeling much better tomorrow. I can remember one experience where I was working out hard and ended up feeling nauseous and having the chills. It took a while to pass, but I think it was related to overtaxing myself, dehydration, and insufficient fuel. It was a scary feeling.

    Feel better…and congrats on the 8.8 miles. Not too shabby!

    Reply
  • 6. Kelly  |  March 15, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    Oh man, hopefully it’s just a weird stomach bug and not from running at all!

    Reply
  • 7. Most Exciting Dinner Ever « with a Side of Sneakers  |  March 15, 2010 at 8:11 pm

    […] My stomach still hasn’t decided what it’s going to do- get better or get worse. I’m leaning towards better, but I wasn’t really feeling dinner. I’m not one to skip meals, so I went with the most basic thing I could come up with besides cereal. (Which is what I really wanted but I used up the last of the milk in chai tea that I finally decided to have as a post-run snack.) […]

    Reply
  • 8. Abby  |  March 15, 2010 at 8:20 pm

    Gahh, girl! I know the feeling all too well. I am impressed you made it that far on an angry stomach! Great job!

    Reply
  • 9. Anna  |  March 15, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    Oh no…I hope you’re doing okay! that sounds like no fun at all 😦

    Hopefully it was just something you ate, and it will pass soon!

    Reply
  • 10. todayslady  |  March 15, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    I hope you feel better soon!!! That’s so awful! I now no longer feel sorry for myself getting a cramp while running today. Take care!!

    Reply
  • 11. Sophie  |  March 15, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    Oh no, I hope you feel better! I can’t run on a full stomach, I have to wait at least an hour before I do any exercise!

    Reply
  • 12. Flat abs???!!!? | Get 6 Pack Abs  |  March 16, 2010 at 5:10 am

    […] Runner’s Stomach « with a Side of Sneakers […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

