Archive for March 16, 2010

Taking Care of Them Feets

So even though it has a lot to do with why I started the blog in the first place, I try not to bring up my feet & hand issues too too much. Nobody likes a whiner. However, it plays a huge role in this weekend’s half marathon. I never thought I’d be able to do something like that….but that’s a topic for another day, another post. 😉

I’ve had a couple questions about how I take care of my feet, so I figured I’d take a minute to share some answers:

Going for a run isn’t quite as simple as it once was. I’ve added a couple steps to my daily routine to try to keep my feet in as good of shape as possible.

I have soft gel pads in the front of my shoes, under the soles. Then I have metatarsal pads on top of the soles.

metatarsal pad gel pad

I have my shoes laced in a different fashion- straight across instead of zig-zagged, then looped tightly at the top- it keeps the pressure of my foot and moves it closer to my ankle.

loop laces straight laced

Depending how my feet feel on any given day determines the type of taping I sport.

light tapemedium tape

foot tapearch tape

If I were a professional athlete, I should totally be sponsored by some athletic tape- maker. I go through rolls of this stuff like you wouldn’t believe.   athletic tape medical tape

Every run ends with ice. Most days end with ice too. My recovery socks are well worn in:)

recovery socks ice foot

My bedtime routine includes a lovely cocktail of Aspercreme, Bengay, and ice. Such a lovely aroma that creates. (ha) Ironically, I’ve been able to get away with using less and less as I’ve continued to run!

pain cream

So that’s incredibly boring but now you know what’s going on in those shoes 😉

Don’t wait until it’s too late to take care of your own feet- common causes of foot pain later in life are shoes with really high heels and tight, pointy toe boxes. That doesn’t mean you have to give up your cute shoe collection (trust me, I wouldn’t tell anybody to do that!) but think about how often you give your feet a break. Small changes like wearing flats to work and changing when you get there, or not wearing them everyday can help. So can choosing shoes with wider toe boxes and not so super high heels. If your feet hurt- listen to them! Roll your arches over a tennis ball and treat yourself to a free massage 😉

March 16, 2010 at 2:40 pm 20 comments

Double Nut Butter Oats & DYKT #7

Goooood morning!!pumpkin oatmeal

Today’s oats included pumpkin & cottage cheese, along with some walnuts and not one, but two nut butters: peanut butter AND almond butter. Yum. I love the nuttiness of the almond butter, but the hint of sweetness from the peanut butter.

morning oats

The almond butter doesn’t melt as well, so it’s harder to get in every bite. That’s why the PB’s there for back up 😉

nut butter oats

The tummy’s definitely doing better today—ahh the magical power of oats. 🙂 Still a little off, but much better than yesterday! We headed out of town for some family stuff, so things maybe a little sporadic around here- I apologize in advance.

Normally when I travel with the in-laws we eat lots of food out, since we don’t really have anywhere to do any cooking. I don’t normally mind when it’s only for a short time, but with the way my stomach’s been acting and the half marathon coming up, I don’t want to mess around too much.

I decided to pack some snacks that I thought would be pretty tummy friendly in case we do end up having to eat out a lot. Then if there isn’t something that will sit well, I’ll have backups to keep me from chewing an arm off. I asked the husband if he thought it would offend anyone if I brought my own food. I’m not sure why I care what people think so much. It’s not their stomach.

Anyways, I’m all loaded up with goodies: Quaker Blueberry & Hazelnut Latte oatmeal packets, bite sized dried plums, whole wheat Wheat Thins, pretzels, Kashi Honey Sunshine cereal, almonds, & walnuts. Think it’d be strange if I threw in a whole jar of peanut butter?!

snacks

Here’s a quickie DYKT for you:

DYKT #7

Did you know it’s more beneficial to carbo-load the week leading up to a longer event than the night before?

Loading up on carbohydrates before an event that’ll last longer than 30 minutes could mean the difference between hitting the wall and finishing strong, but an all-night pasta party probably isn’t the best way to do it.

The idea behind carbo-loading is to maximize the amount of glycogen you have stored in your muscles come race time. By stocking up on carbs, you can increase the amount of glycogen in your muscles from 80-120 mmol/kg to 200 mmol/kg- quite a difference!

Also the point is to specific eat more carbohydrates- not more calories in general, or more fat, etc. Your body does need more calories so the extra can be stored as fuel, but that should be achieved by exercising less, not eating more. Exercising less (tapering) gives your muscles a chance to relax, repair any damage, and store glycogen.

Glycogen stored in your muscles not only provides energy during your race, but it also helps prevent dehydration. For every gram of carbohydrate stored in your muscles, 3 grams of water are stored.

Complex carbohydrates are probably your best option, but what’s more important is not to change your diet too much. This isn’t the time to be messing around! Remember, some carbs like fruit and fruit juice can cause diarrhea in some people. Stick to what you know!

Don’t want to eat more carbohydrates all week long? The most important time period to consumer carbohydrates is the 3 days leading up to the event.

Happy carbing!

March 16, 2010 at 7:06 am 16 comments


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere