Double Nut Butter Oats & DYKT #7

March 16, 2010 at 7:06 am 16 comments

Goooood morning!!pumpkin oatmeal

Today’s oats included pumpkin & cottage cheese, along with some walnuts and not one, but two nut butters: peanut butter AND almond butter. Yum. I love the nuttiness of the almond butter, but the hint of sweetness from the peanut butter.

morning oats

The almond butter doesn’t melt as well, so it’s harder to get in every bite. That’s why the PB’s there for back up 😉

nut butter oats

The tummy’s definitely doing better today—ahh the magical power of oats. 🙂 Still a little off, but much better than yesterday! We headed out of town for some family stuff, so things maybe a little sporadic around here- I apologize in advance.

Normally when I travel with the in-laws we eat lots of food out, since we don’t really have anywhere to do any cooking. I don’t normally mind when it’s only for a short time, but with the way my stomach’s been acting and the half marathon coming up, I don’t want to mess around too much.

I decided to pack some snacks that I thought would be pretty tummy friendly in case we do end up having to eat out a lot. Then if there isn’t something that will sit well, I’ll have backups to keep me from chewing an arm off. I asked the husband if he thought it would offend anyone if I brought my own food. I’m not sure why I care what people think so much. It’s not their stomach.

Anyways, I’m all loaded up with goodies: Quaker Blueberry & Hazelnut Latte oatmeal packets, bite sized dried plums, whole wheat Wheat Thins, pretzels, Kashi Honey Sunshine cereal, almonds, & walnuts. Think it’d be strange if I threw in a whole jar of peanut butter?!

snacks

Here’s a quickie DYKT for you:

DYKT #7

Did you know it’s more beneficial to carbo-load the week leading up to a longer event than the night before?

Loading up on carbohydrates before an event that’ll last longer than 30 minutes could mean the difference between hitting the wall and finishing strong, but an all-night pasta party probably isn’t the best way to do it.

The idea behind carbo-loading is to maximize the amount of glycogen you have stored in your muscles come race time. By stocking up on carbs, you can increase the amount of glycogen in your muscles from 80-120 mmol/kg to 200 mmol/kg- quite a difference!

Also the point is to specific eat more carbohydrates- not more calories in general, or more fat, etc. Your body does need more calories so the extra can be stored as fuel, but that should be achieved by exercising less, not eating more. Exercising less (tapering) gives your muscles a chance to relax, repair any damage, and store glycogen.

Glycogen stored in your muscles not only provides energy during your race, but it also helps prevent dehydration. For every gram of carbohydrate stored in your muscles, 3 grams of water are stored.

Complex carbohydrates are probably your best option, but what’s more important is not to change your diet too much. This isn’t the time to be messing around! Remember, some carbs like fruit and fruit juice can cause diarrhea in some people. Stick to what you know!

Don’t want to eat more carbohydrates all week long? The most important time period to consumer carbohydrates is the 3 days leading up to the event.

Happy carbing!

Entry filed under: Breakfast, DYKT. Tags: , , .

Most Exciting Dinner Ever Taking Care of Them Feets

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Samantha Angela @ Bikini Birthday  |  March 16, 2010 at 8:19 am

    I heard that protein loading the day before an event is effective. i can’t remember where I read that though.

    Reply
  • 2. Kara (@ Kara's Marathon)  |  March 16, 2010 at 8:45 am

    Thanks for the reminder! I’m going to make sure to carbo-load for the next few days; I need all the help I can get on Sunday! 😉

    Reply
  • 3. Sophie  |  March 16, 2010 at 9:19 am

    I never knew that about carbo loading…thanks for the advice!

    Reply
  • 4. Retta @ RunRettaRun  |  March 16, 2010 at 9:43 am

    Thanks for the tip! I’ve always read about carb loading the night before and I think I like the idea of doing it a few days prior to an event!

    Reply
  • 5. John  |  March 16, 2010 at 9:49 am

    I did not know that.

    Reply
  • 6. todayslady  |  March 16, 2010 at 10:04 am

    I love that you strategically put two nut butters in your oats!! Definitely a blogger thing to do!

    I did not know that about carbo loading!

    Reply
  • 7. Anne Marie@New Weigh of Life  |  March 16, 2010 at 10:09 am

    Awesome advice!

    Reply
  • 8. Shayna @ Cuts and Curves  |  March 16, 2010 at 10:23 am

    Thanks for the carb info. I didn’t know, but it makes perfect sense.

    I’m officially craving pumpkin oats now too….

    Reply
  • 9. Lacey  |  March 16, 2010 at 10:28 am

    ooooh i just got a coupon for the quaker true dleights. had not heard of it before!!!!! do you like them? what flavor do you recommend??? i love oatmeal. v. excited to try it.

    Reply
    • 10. Heather  |  March 16, 2010 at 3:01 pm

      I haven’t tried them yet, just bought them last night! I’ll let you know what I think though 😉

      Reply
  • 11. Laura Georgina  |  March 16, 2010 at 11:37 am

    Good carb advice! It’s a pet peeve to hear people talking about gulping down pizza and spaghetti the night before a race for carb-loading, so definitely a very welcome post.

    Reply
  • 12. Amy @ Second City Randomness  |  March 16, 2010 at 11:40 am

    Oh that oatmeal looks like heaven… I need nut butter rehab asap.

    Reply
  • 13. DiningAndDishing  |  March 16, 2010 at 12:12 pm

    Almond butter PLUS peanut butter is perhaps the best idea I’ve heard in a while!!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply
  • 14. Kelly  |  March 16, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    I totally believe the carbo-loading thing…based on personal experience. Whenever I eat too many carbs the night before it has the complete opposite effect on me…I am sluggish. But if I start increasing slowly over the course of a few day it is much better!!

    I agree about the almond and peanut butter. I love them separatly but sometimes mixing them together proves to be an amazing combo!

    Reply
  • 15. marathonmaiden  |  March 16, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    i feel so smart because i knew the dykt 🙂

    and oats = cure. i was really sick a few years ago and i swear oats nursed me back to life haha

    Reply
  • 16. Anna  |  March 17, 2010 at 7:12 am

    Ooh, I have some leftover cottage cheese in my fridge from a recipe…I must make cottage cheese oats! I forget how much I like them!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

