Taking Care of Them Feets

March 16, 2010 at 2:40 pm 20 comments

So even though it has a lot to do with why I started the blog in the first place, I try not to bring up my feet & hand issues too too much. Nobody likes a whiner. However, it plays a huge role in this weekend’s half marathon. I never thought I’d be able to do something like that….but that’s a topic for another day, another post. 😉

I’ve had a couple questions about how I take care of my feet, so I figured I’d take a minute to share some answers:

Going for a run isn’t quite as simple as it once was. I’ve added a couple steps to my daily routine to try to keep my feet in as good of shape as possible.

I have soft gel pads in the front of my shoes, under the soles. Then I have metatarsal pads on top of the soles.

metatarsal pad gel pad

I have my shoes laced in a different fashion- straight across instead of zig-zagged, then looped tightly at the top- it keeps the pressure of my foot and moves it closer to my ankle.

loop laces straight laced

Depending how my feet feel on any given day determines the type of taping I sport.

light tapemedium tape

foot tapearch tape

If I were a professional athlete, I should totally be sponsored by some athletic tape- maker. I go through rolls of this stuff like you wouldn’t believe.   athletic tape medical tape

Every run ends with ice. Most days end with ice too. My recovery socks are well worn in:)

recovery socks ice foot

My bedtime routine includes a lovely cocktail of Aspercreme, Bengay, and ice. Such a lovely aroma that creates. (ha) Ironically, I’ve been able to get away with using less and less as I’ve continued to run!

pain cream

So that’s incredibly boring but now you know what’s going on in those shoes 😉

Don’t wait until it’s too late to take care of your own feet- common causes of foot pain later in life are shoes with really high heels and tight, pointy toe boxes. That doesn’t mean you have to give up your cute shoe collection (trust me, I wouldn’t tell anybody to do that!) but think about how often you give your feet a break. Small changes like wearing flats to work and changing when you get there, or not wearing them everyday can help. So can choosing shoes with wider toe boxes and not so super high heels. If your feet hurt- listen to them! Roll your arches over a tennis ball and treat yourself to a free massage 😉

Entry filed under: Injuries, Injury prevention. Tags: , , .

Double Nut Butter Oats & DYKT #7 Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heather (Where's the Beach)  |  March 16, 2010 at 3:19 pm

    I love rolling my feet on a tennis ball. I keep on in my gym bag. It’s something I discovered when I was dancing still. I also used a ton of surgical tape on my feet back then too.

    Reply
  • 2. Samantha Angela @ Bikini Birthday  |  March 16, 2010 at 5:28 pm

    I don’ really own a lot of uncomfortable impractical shoes. I love something wide and comfy on my feet.

    Reply
  • 3. theprocessofhealing  |  March 16, 2010 at 6:34 pm

    OH wow… what you go through to run!!!! I’d love to hear more about your injury though.

    Reply
  • 4. homecookedem  |  March 16, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    Oh my goodness, I just caught up on all of that you’ve gone through. I can’t even begin to understand all the frustration and anxiety this has caused you. I recently had some pretty crazy heel pain. It felt as if the tissues were tearing inside, awful!! I started wearing better shoes and my heel has somewhat improved, but I still can’t go into a full downward facing dog in yoga. I will try out your tennis ball tip, thanks! 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Daniel  |  March 16, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    I feel really bad that you have to go through all of that to prepare for a run! It shouldn’t have to be that hectic for you.

    I’m sorry if you’ve mentioned it previously, but have you been personally fitted for shoes? I had extreme pain in my calves starting track practices during high school and I found out that I over pronate and needed special shoes to correct my running. Maybe that could help out with some of the preparations.

    Good luck with your half marathon though, I’m sure you’ll do great, pain or no pain! 😀

    Reply
    • 6. Heather  |  March 17, 2010 at 7:20 am

      Yup I have! Being in the right shoes definitely helps- everyone should get fitted! 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. Heather @ Get Healthy With Heather  |  March 16, 2010 at 7:20 pm

    My arches have been calling to be tennis ball rolled all day since running in my Nike frees yesterday!

    Reply
  • 8. Kelly  |  March 16, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    What a great post!! My feet are my most prized jewels for sure!!! Oh for the love of running….

    Reply
  • 9. Carolina John  |  March 16, 2010 at 8:52 pm

    ice ice baby! marathon time! See you there.

    Reply
  • 10. marathonmaiden  |  March 16, 2010 at 9:06 pm

    thank you so much for this post! my feet are absolutely awful and i KNOW i should take care of them better/more.

    i love the hot pink recovery socks! want them 🙂

    Reply
  • 11. Shelly  |  March 16, 2010 at 10:12 pm

    Post Ultra my feet, mostly my toes, were talking a lot.

    Nice reminder to take care of our tooties!

    Reply
  • 12. thetwentyfifthyear  |  March 16, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    I tie my shoes differently too – but mostly it’s at the end of my laces toward my ankle. I’ve heard people call it “runners knot.” I don’t have recovery socks but just purchased compression sleeves because I get aching calves. I don’t think I can ever run without them again – when you find something that works you just stick with it!

    Reply
  • 13. Madeline - Greens and Jeans  |  March 17, 2010 at 12:31 am

    I use the runners knot too thanks to my narrow heels! After I had knee surgery 10 years ago (holy crap, I am old), I used to have to go through similar crazy steps before I even slipped my shoes on! The things we do, eh?

    Reply
  • 14. lessonstolearn  |  March 17, 2010 at 6:25 am

    A half marathon is something to be proud of anyway….but even more so when you have had to overcome as much as you have. Congrats!

    Reply
  • 15. Lindsay  |  March 17, 2010 at 6:57 am

    I was wondering if you were just slipping shoes or doing extra measures…so proud of you for going out there are doing it even though you struggle with this!

    Reply
  • 16. Lindsay  |  March 17, 2010 at 7:06 am

    slipping into running shoes*

    Reply
  • 17. Kelly  |  March 17, 2010 at 9:19 am

    Wow, that is a lot to go through to have to get through a run. That takes dedication.

    Reply
  • 18. onelittlejill  |  March 17, 2010 at 10:01 am

    I am a violater of impractical shoes, but I also wear sneakers whenever possible.

    I love tape too!!!!

    Reply
  • 19. Laura Georgina  |  March 17, 2010 at 10:15 am

    You are such a trooper! I’m sure those feet will carry you flying through your half this weekend 🙂

    Reply
  • 20. Melissa  |  March 17, 2010 at 12:31 pm

    Wow, what a complicated routine to care for your feet. I’m getting more and more into running. Can you share some info on the benefits of recovery socks? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

