Fight Against Fat in Kids

March 18, 2010 at 1:37 pm 10 comments

You never know with conferences what the lunch situation will be. The one I’m at today usually gives you a break to go grab lunch, but I always worry they’ll change the schedule or there won’t be enough time with so many people all trying to but lunch at the same time.

Just in case, I packed a lunch and brought it with me. If I don’t need it, no worries. But just in case. You know I need my food 🙂

I brought a bagel sandwich on Thomas’ Whole Wheat Bagel Thins with both peanut butter and almond butter, along with sliced bananas and sunflower seeds.

bagel sandwich pb and banana

And some dried plums. (Yes, I know that means they’re prunes but it sounds less Geezer-ish to say dried plums. And that’s what the bag says, so I’m sticking with it)dried plums

Along with some whole wheat Wheat Thins. I thought they’d be similar to the Multigrain and was wondering why they offered both, but I definitely like the Multigrain better!wheat thins

Annnnd some Jello Rice Pudding. lunch to go

And since I never know when I’ll get hungry just sitting there all day, I brought some back up snacks just in case.

snack time

I’ve mentioned I’ve been to this conference before, but this time the focus is Childhood Obesity, which is completely awesome since it’s so relevant. We’ve been talking about what we think the single best way to fight obesity in child is…of course there’s no one best answer, but it’s interesting to think about. It really is a different monster than that of adults.

What one thing would you choose as the “best” way to fight the childhood obesity epidemic?!

Entry filed under: Lunch. Tags: , , .

Bowl ‘O Oats to Go Grand Opening Y’all

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anna  |  March 18, 2010 at 7:16 am

    Haha…I also call prunes “dried plums.” So much more pleasant!

    Hmmmm…I think bringing back mandatory physical education is a start. I’m also for higher taxes on junk food…I think that would help with childhood and adult obesity problems BIG TIME.

    Reply
  • 2. lessonstolearn  |  March 18, 2010 at 7:51 am

    I always pack a lunch too. I don’t want to be caught without food!

    I think kids need to have PE classes and the classes need to really focus on making fitness fun. Not like my old PE classes!

    Reply
  • 3. Kelly  |  March 18, 2010 at 7:52 am

    Haha I’d stick with calling them dried plums also. I still maintain that educating your children about the right food choices starts in the home when they are young.

    Reply
  • 4. Amy @ Second City Randomness  |  March 18, 2010 at 8:12 am

    I agree with Kelly- it’s the parents who have to show kids how it should be done. Unfortunately, it’s to the point where the parents never learned it either… so maybe various Health classes should be introduced in school to teach proper nutrition/eating habits.

    And school lunch reform wouldn’t hurt, either.

    I could probably go on and on… there are so many important issues to be addressed on this one!

    Reply
  • 5. Kelly  |  March 18, 2010 at 8:14 am

    I think the best way to fight childhood obesity is to bring back PE 5 days a week and improve the school lunches!

    Reply
  • 6. Teacherwoman  |  March 18, 2010 at 8:27 am

    way to be proactive and pack yourself a lunch. I would do the same!

    I agree with school lunch reform. Our school does so much better with lunches then when I was a kid, but they still offer a lot of crap and so many carbs!

    Reply
  • 7. Britt @ Runnerbelle  |  March 18, 2010 at 8:28 am

    A lot of what I have read points more to the food than the lack of exercise….although of course exercise is EXTREMELY beneficial.

    I’d say healthy food in the cafeteria. Lots of kids get their main meals at school, if they only have healthy choices then they are going to eat healthy food. But knowledge is key too, so health classes would be great as well…..

    Reply
  • 8. Lacey  |  March 18, 2010 at 8:51 am

    hahah “dried plums” i like that.

    childhood obesity= FUN stuff, like extracurriculars, team sports, outdoor camps + games, swimming and stuff like that. ALSO parents + fam time, role model stuff, eating dinner together. making meals fun + healthy, including kids in the choosing + prep.

    Reply
  • 9. marathonmaiden  |  March 18, 2010 at 9:51 am

    i think having gym class and RECESS is essential. kids need to learn that moving around is fun and enjoyable. and playing games like tag or even sports out on the playground is a great way to do that

    Reply
  • 10. Daniel  |  March 18, 2010 at 10:21 am

    Improving the food served and food available in the school and having some kind of nutrition courses would help out immensely!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

