Running Tunes

March 19, 2010 at 8:33 pm 9 comments

I am happy to report today’s conference was much better than yesterday! No exciting store openings though. Though I fear being boring, I was so exhausted that I turned to the freezer for dinner.

I pulled out my favorite standby Lean Cuisine: Tortilla Crusted Fish with Mexican rice.

tortilla crusted fish

And some corn nuggets on the side. That’s the last of them – no more freaky nugget-fied veggies 🙂

corn nuggets

That didn’t quite cut it for me, so I snacked on some Frosted Mini-Wheats cereal with milk for “dessert”. (I might have broken into the husband’s cereal stash….)

DSCN3054    

Music

It’s playlist time!!! I’m getting to make a playlist for my half marathon so I don’t have to worry about switching through songs I don’t like. Or super slow sad ones.

Some frequent players from training:

“Welcome Home” Coheed & Cambria

“Get Outta My Way” Carolina Rain

“Glamorous” Fergie

“Here it Goes Again” Ok Go

“Face Down” The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus

“Snow (Hey Oh)” Red Hot Chili Peppers

“You Give Love a Bad Name” Bon Jovi

“I Stand Alone” Godsmack

 

 

I have trouble picking songs to run to because I get caught up in listening to the music instead of picking good, upbeat, motivating songs.

So..

What’s your favorite running song?! Ready go…

Entry filed under: Dinner. Tags: , .

Let the Carbing Begin Back to Oats

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. John  |  March 19, 2010 at 9:00 pm

    I don’t actually listen to music when I run . Don’t want to risk dropping my Iphone! Need to invest in some sort of cheap mp3 now I guess 😦

    Reply
  • 2. d.a.r.  |  March 19, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    My rule of thumb is that if it makes me want to dance like an idiot, then it is good to go for the playlist 🙂

    Guilty pleasures include Britney Spears, Lady Gaga, Rhiana, Miley Cyrus, and Michael Jackson.

    Reply
  • 3. Kelly  |  March 19, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    1. That is one of my fave lean cuisine too!

    2. My latest favorites include lots of Black Eyed Peas, Lady Gaga and ummmm… Metallica!

    Good luck in your race 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. inmytummy  |  March 19, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    I heard this song on The Real World and am obsessed with it while I”m running – Through Telescopes by Colour Academy.

    Reply
  • 5. Heather  |  March 19, 2010 at 10:11 pm

    Britney Spears – 3 and CALL ON ME – the dance version. I cannot tell you how many times I hit repeat on my ipod during my half marathon – I think I listened to it 4 times.

    Reply
  • 6. theprocessofhealing  |  March 19, 2010 at 10:32 pm

    Oh I love a lot of those songs!!!

    Britney Spears and Lady Gaga are my running buddies… their songs are awesome to run to. You can pick any song on Lady Gaga’s latest CD and it will be perfect for running 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down)  |  March 20, 2010 at 8:15 am

    I like one of Jordan Sparks songs, but I can’t remember the title…all I remember is “how do you expect me to just breathe?” I always thought it was appropriate for the hard workouts and somehow it kept me going. 😉

    Reply
  • 8. Daniel  |  March 20, 2010 at 9:59 am

    For some reason, Paperthin Hymn by Anberlin gets me pretty pumped while running. Probably the nice rhythm and beat and the fact that it plays louder than all of the other songs on my shuffle.

    I do need more variety in my music though.

    Anything with a hard beat and something that you can run in pace with is usually something I approve of. 😀

    Reply
  • 9. marathonmaiden  |  March 20, 2010 at 11:20 am

    that was my problem with picking out running music too. i’m always like “i love this song” rather than “this song will get me through some tough miles”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

