Feeling Tropical

March 22, 2010 at 8:47 pm 12 comments

If anybody was wondering whether you work your leg muscles in Pilates or not, you do.

Nothing like being sore from running to let you know what muscles you use 🙂

The Pilates class I take is usually the same thing every week. I figured I’d go tonight just to get the blood flowing, and I could use the beginner modifications if I needed to.

Well, of course this happened to be the class with NO beginners, so the instructor decided it was time for some advanced moves! Of course. Haha. I had to make some modifications for my feet, but I did pretty well overall. We’ll see if I pay for it tomorrow though…

 

Dinner

I’ve been pretty hungry since yesterday, so I wanted a dinner that was going to be filling. I opted for brown rice with chicken, peppers, and pineapple!

1/2 cup short grain brown rice

1 cup water (or broth)

2 chicken breasts

1 yellow bell pepper

1 red bell pepper

1 onion

4 slices pineapple

Adobo sauce

Jerk sauce

Basil

 

Combine rice & water and bring to a boil. Cook until water is absorbed (~30 minutes for me). Chop peppers & onions. Place on baking sheet with pineapple and roast at low heat while rice cooks. Slice chicken and marinate in adobo sauce for a few minutes. Sauté over medium high heat until cooked through.

Coat veggies with jerk sauce, then serve with rice & chicken. Top with basil.

 peppers & pineapple

I love cooked pineapple- especially grilled….so delicious!

rice, peppers, & pineapple

It was fantastic! It didn’t fill me up though- now I’m eating a bowl of cereal 🙂

Entry filed under: Dinner. Tags: , , , , .

Half Marathon Pictures Fast Food Quiz

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. theprocessofhealing  |  March 22, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    Sounds delicious!! I just loooove pineapple in savory things 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Madeline - Greens and Jeans  |  March 22, 2010 at 10:32 pm

    I loooove roasted pineapple!

    Reply
  • 3. thewhatkateateblog  |  March 22, 2010 at 11:13 pm

    Im a huge fan of cooked pineapple, too!

    Reply
  • 4. thewhatkateateblog  |  March 22, 2010 at 11:13 pm

    Haha I just read the other comments – apparently we all love some roasted pineapple!

    Reply
  • 5. kbwood  |  March 22, 2010 at 11:47 pm

    WOW what a delish, tropical dinner! Love it!

    Reply
  • 6. jaclyn@todayslady  |  March 23, 2010 at 12:21 am

    I love roasted pineapple too!! I recently had it in a burrito and it was to die for!!

    Reply
  • 7. homecookedem  |  March 23, 2010 at 6:50 am

    I love roasted pineapple!! That looks so good combined with the veggies!!

    Reply
  • 8. Anna  |  March 23, 2010 at 8:06 am

    Mmmm….yes to pineapple. Can’t wait for summer, so we can grill it!!

    Reply
  • 9. Kelly  |  March 23, 2010 at 8:47 am

    That looks delicious!

    Reply
  • 10. fromatopink  |  March 23, 2010 at 10:07 am

    This looks fantastic! After a crazy weekend I need to detox with some fruits and veggies – this looks like the perfect way. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Reply
  • 11. Heather (Where's the Beach)  |  March 23, 2010 at 11:11 am

    Oohhh great idea roasting the pineapple with the other veggies. YUM.

    Reply
  • 12. feetinmotion  |  March 23, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    I love Pilates. It definitely gets a good stretch after a run or even stretch you out before a run. Wish I had more space in my dorm room and a dvd player that actually worked! Ha!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

