Revealing Answers

March 23, 2010 at 7:45 pm 15 comments

Dinner tonight was nice & simple- but good! Taco salad!

I mixed black beans & corn with paprika, chili powder, and cumin, then served it on a bed of chopped lettuce with salsa, avocado, crushed tortilla chips, and a little cheese.

So quick yet so good 🙂

taco salad

Now on to the fast food quiz results: (If you haven’t taken it yet, go do it now before you see the answers!)

1. Which of the following breakfast items at Denny’s do you think has the fewest calories?

a. Ham and cheddar omelet (595)

b. Country fried steak & eggs (464)

c. Three slices of French toast with syrup & margarine (1000)

d. Three pancakes with syrup & margarine (650)

2. Which of the following items from Chili’s do you think has the least salt?

a. Cajun chicken sandwich (2220)

b. Classic combo chicken & steak fajitas (2660)

c. Guiltless chicken platter (2780)

d. Smoked turkey sandwich (2920)

3. Which of the following items from Macaroni Grill do you think has the most fat?

a. Traditional lasagna (54)

b. Chicken Caesar salad (69)

c. Pasta classico with sausage & peppers (50)

d. BBQ chicken pizza (24)

4. Which of the following from McDonald’s do you think has the most calories?

a. Two Big Macs (1080)

b. Two Egg McMuffins (600)

c. One large chocolate shake (1160)

d. Four regular hamburgers (1000)

How did you do?!

You guys are smarty pants, but not one person got ALL 4 answers correct!

The breakdown:

1. 20% correct

2. 20% correct

3. 53% correct

4. 60% correct

These questions were asked to a group of 523 registered voters in California.

The results?

NO ONE answered all 4 questions correctly

– <1% got 3 out of 4 correct

– 5% got 2 out 4 correct

68% got ZERO correct answers

(These questions were asked at the conference I was at last week- in a room full of 200+ RDs, 2 people got all 4 questions right.)

What does this tell us?

Even if you are well educated about food & health, there is just no way to know what’s in our food. Your omelet will be different than my omelet, which will be different from Denny’s omelet!

How does this make you feel about posting nutrition information on menus?!

I think it’d be a great tool to help people make healthy choices- I can’t wait for more places to hop on board!

Entry filed under: Dinner, DYKT. Tags: , .

Post Race Recovery Tips Funny Fitness Pictures

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kelly  |  March 23, 2010 at 8:13 pm

    Wow, I don’t think I got any right. That’s insane.

    Reply
  • 2. theprocessofhealing  |  March 23, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    I couldn’t believe some of those answers!!! I definitely think that they should post nutrition information on menus.

    Reply
  • 3. Anna  |  March 23, 2010 at 8:26 pm

    Argh!!! I was so close to getting them all right, and I ALMOST put A for number two. Drat!

    Fun quiz 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. homecookedem  |  March 23, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    I think I only got one wrong, #1. And I totally almost chose the country fried steak, but thought that might be too obvious…

    Reply
  • 5. Lacey  |  March 23, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    darn!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i feel defeated. lol.

    Reply
  • 6. feetinmotion  |  March 23, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    Well I got 50% on that hahah.

    Reply
  • 7. Lisa (bakebikeblog)  |  March 23, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    Those McDonalds thickshake stats are CRAZY!!!!!

    Reply
  • 8. Danielle  |  March 23, 2010 at 9:43 pm

    This was a cool quiz! I definitely think nutrition info. should be more readily available in restaurants.

    Reply
  • 9. Teacherwoman  |  March 23, 2010 at 9:51 pm

    Very interesting! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  • 10. John  |  March 23, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    In my defence I have eaten at Denny’s twice in my life and never at Chili’s or Macaroni’s. I did get the McDonald’s one right as I’ve eaten their quite a few times over the years 🙂

    Reply
  • 11. todayslady  |  March 23, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    That is so crazy! It really does show that restaurants can be sneaky with extra calories and fat. Even if you are pretty educated about nutrition, something that you think is a healthy choice may be the opposite! I definitely think nutritional info should be always available!

    Reply
  • 12. marathonmaiden  |  March 23, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    i can’t remember what i said haha! i don’t really care about actual labeling of nutrition on the menu itself. i always ask specifically what a particular dish has in it anyway and pretty much always special order stuff. it’s important to keep in mind that nutritional info doesn’t always match the dish because chefs definitely take lots of liberties.

    Reply
  • 13. Carolina John  |  March 23, 2010 at 10:55 pm

    yes i have wanted nutrition info on menu’s for years. those are great questions! I had no idea the country steak and eggs was that lowcal.

    btw, i finally posted my race report tonight.

    Reply
    • 14. Heather  |  March 24, 2010 at 7:58 am

      Going to read it right now!!

      Reply
  • 15. Sophie @ yumventures  |  March 24, 2010 at 12:20 pm

    I lived in NYC when they started putting calorie counts on menus. People were in an uproar! But with things like this quiz, obviously A) we don’t know nutritional information just by knowing the food and B) we could end up making poor judgements based on assumptions. Now that I am in Boston I miss seeing the calorie counts. It doesn’t mean I would pick the least-calorie option, but if I’m craving a salad I would want to know if I’m eating more than a hamburgers worth in one meal.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

