Archive for March 24, 2010

Croak Monsters

As I was getting dinner ready, the husband walked in and asked what was for dinner. I said “croque monsieurs”. He looked at me funny and said “croak monsters?” Oh jeez.

So I guess we had croak monsters and soup for dinner. It’d be a lot better story if it came from a 2 year old and not my husband.

To make the croque monsieurs, I heated up some milk on the stove, and stirred in some Smart Balance & spelt flour. Once it had warmed up, I mixed in some grated Fontina cheese. I kept whisking until it had made a nice, thick sauce.

While the sauce was heating up, I toasted some whole wheat bread, then topped it with brown mustard, provolone, and sliced avocados. I spread a little of the sauce on top of the cheese & avocado, then some more on top of the whole sandwich. Under the broiler for a few minutes and yummy, grown-up grilled cheese was served!

croque monsieur  

Mmm avocado grilled cheese sandwich- something I never thought would taste good a few years ago….

soup and sandwich

I also had some Campbell’s Light Mushroom Barley soup. It was just so-so.

 

Snack

I was extra hungry this afternoon, so I did some snacking: Oikos Caramel Greek Yogurt and Kashi Stoneground crackers.

greek yogurt

kashi crackers

I’m not gonna lie- the yogurt was expired. I ate it anyway. Oh well- I’m still alive 😉 I figure yogurt’s cultured anyway…..

 

Recovery

I am just itching to run!! But since I said I was going to take recovery seriously, I didn’t run. Yet. I had to get outside for a bit after work since the sun was shining, so I went for a short walk around the neighborhood, followed by a quickened version of Yoga for Runners. (Meaning I just did some of the poses, I didn’t listen to the class…don’t tell anyone I cheated;))

 

If the sun is shining tomorrow though, I’m gonna have to get moving a little more 😉

 

Happy Wednesday!! Hope you have a great evening 🙂

March 24, 2010 at 9:35 pm 12 comments

Running Inspiration

Pizza time!!

Lunch was a conglomeration of leftovers. The last two slices of pizza, some lima beans, and the very few remaining veggies from my tropical rice dish.

lima beans pizza

Work is an insane madhouse today!! I keep looking longingly at the sunshine through the window…..

How’s this for inspiration?

No matter how much you love running (or other workout), we all have our days when we don’t want to do it, or think we can’t. Thinking I can’t gets in my way more than I’d like to admit.

I know there are a TON of inspirational running stories out there, but this one hit home more so than usual, because this guy was running in the same race I was….and he went twice as far. With a brain tumor.

Not even brain cancer could stop this marathoner

I’ll leave you with 3 of my favorite running quotes:

“Racing teaches us to challenge ourselves. It teaches us to push beyond where we thought we could go. It helps us to find out what we are made of. This is what we do. This is what it’s all about.”   -PattiSue Plumer, U.S. Olympian

“If you want to become the best runner you can be, start now. Don’t spend the rest of your life wondering if you can do it.”     -Priscilla Welch

“Run if you can, walk if you have to, crawl if you must, just never give up.”  – Dean Karnazes

What inspires you to run?

March 24, 2010 at 12:07 pm 18 comments

Funny Fitness Pictures

I woke up this morning just screaming for coffee (not much unlike any other day), so I treated myself to a homemade latte. In case you’re wondering Fresh Market Peppermint Blend and Torani Hazelnut Syrup do not make the best flavor combo. Not as bad as you might think though 😉

homemade latte

And some pretty simple oats: oatmeal, flax, chia seeds, cottage cheese, and peanut butter.

oats

Having simple oats ending up being perfect this morning- there were huge banana nut muffins and little mini cinnamon rolls waiting at work, which I gladly helped myself to. 🙂

Music

This is a little after the fact, but by request, here’s my playlist from the half:

Half marathon playlist

“Funny” Pictures

I don’t have anything interesting going on, so here’s some ironic “fitness” pictures for you:

fitness-escalator

man walking dog in truck

No wonder we have obesity problems……

March 24, 2010 at 7:49 am 18 comments


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere