Archive for February 1, 2010

Kitchen Experiments

Tonight’s dinner had not one, but two new ingredients for me. Leeks and pearl barley.

Chicken and Leek Soup

1 bunch of leeks

1 small onion

1 stalk celery

4 cups water

~1 cup chicken broth

1/2 cup pearl barley

2 chicken breasts

pepper

thyme

lemon juice

spinach

salt to taste

Chop all the veggies and throw them in the pan first to get a little color and a jump start on the cooking. Add water and chicken broth. Bring to a boil as you add the barely, chicken, and spices. I threw the chicken in whole and uncooked so it would flavor the broth as it cooked.  Once it boils, return to a simmer. Once chicken is cooked, remove and use two forks to shred. Set aside. Continue cooking until barley is soft but slightly chewy. (~30 min). Return chicken to soup, along with spinach and lemon juice. Cook until spinach wilts, then serve and enjoy!

chicken and leek soup

This would certainly be a hearty enough soup without the chicken too.

After dinner, I decided to hop on this banana soft serve train.

Dbananas

banana ice cream 

Just blend up frozen banana and voila, instant ice cream!! Mine was a little bit icy in texture, but I think my poor little mini food processor couldn’t handle the frozen banana. I literally had to hold it down with all my weight to keep it from bounding off the counter. I ended up adding a little almond milk and cinnamon, but I’m sure it’d be good just plain too.

 

Tomorrow’s Groundhog’s Day!! Are you hoping for shadow or no?! I’m looking forward to spring, but I’m not ready for the summer heat that follows!!

 

Don’t forget to check back in the AM for Did You Know Tuesday!!

February 1, 2010 at 8:44 pm 4 comments

Simple is Good

I continue to laugh at the overreaction NC has to snow. Schools were closed again today. Now, I understand about keeping buses safe and all that, but a delay would’ve even been pushing it. The differences in the way people act about weather in different states will never cease to amaze me. In MD, when it snows, everyone is out shoveling before it even stops, or else it gets to hard to shovel. They don’t stay home, even in a blizzard. If you can’t drive, you walk. Things don’t close. Here in NC, not one of my neighbors shoveled their driveway. (Me included- I don’t own a snow shovel). But I managed to get to work just fine in my non-four-wheel drive just fine.

Anyways. Lunch was an Amy’s veggie burger and bowl full of veggies, thanks to Mr. Green Giant. Easy, good, filling. Perfect for a Monday.

 burger and veggeis

veggies

February 1, 2010 at 1:56 pm 9 comments

Welcoming February with Oats

Happy February!!

Anybody watch the Grammy’s last night?! I really want to see American Idiot on Broadway now! 🙂 I love watching all the performances- it’s the only awards show that actually somewhat holds my attention. I kinda liked Pink’s cirque du soleil-like performance (at least the song anyway) and the Black Eye Peas are always fun.

I enjoyed some more oats this morning 🙂

oatmeal

(Oatmeal, wheat germ, flax, coconut, cinnamon, nutmeg, walnuts, almond milk, PB—there was 2 hidden jars in the pantry—I knew  wouldn’t let myself run low :))

And a wonderful mug of coffee!

coffee

Check out that swirl action…I wish I could take credit for it, but it just sorta happened.

 

Good start to a Monday! 🙂

February 1, 2010 at 10:21 am 8 comments


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other subscribers

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere